3 get to stay on St. Charles school board ballot

Updated 1/9/2019 2:24 PM

Three candidates running for seats on the St. Charles District 303 school board can stay on the April 2 ballot.

The Kane County Electoral Board ruled Tuesday against challenges made to the petitions of board President Kathleen Hewell, Vice President Nicholas Manheim and Rebecca McCabe.


Resident Danielle Penman had argued that Hewell and Manheim violated the school district's Ethics and Gift Ban Policy. She said Hewell did so by asking other board members to sign her petition during a break at a board meeting and Manheim did so by having Hewell collect signatures for him.

Penman said McCabe should be removed because she would have conflicts of interest, due to being a retired superintendent for the district and having done consulting work for the district after she retired.

McCabe and Hewell are seeking four-year terms. Manheim is seeking a two-year term.

The board also decided that Gail Borden Library board candidate Winifried Cooper can stay on the ballot.

But it removed Chad Feldotto from the Fox Valley Park District District 2 ballot. Objector Jerry Butler argued Feldotto did not obtain enough signatures. Butler, an incumbent, is also running for District 2. He is now unopposed.

It also removed Richard J. Treonis from the Fox River and Countryside Fire/Rescue District ballot. Objector Thomas Mollenhauer contended Treonis listed an elected office that doesn't exist on the pages of his petition, including the statement of candidacy. Treonis' petition stated he is running for secretary of the fire board, but the secretary is chosen by board members among themselves.

He also failed to put his address and the election date on one of the pages of signatures.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.