Barrington chamber fetes local businesses, names new leadership

Updated 1/23/2017 11:45 AM

The Barrington Area Chamber of Commerce announced its 2017 business awards at its recent Annual Dinner & Scholarship Fundraiser held at Stonegate Conference and Banquet Centre in Hoffman Estates.

The evening was a celebration of chamber accomplishments and people and attracted nearly 200 local business, community and governmental leaders. The event also raised funds for the chamber's annual scholarships.


"Tonight, I would like to introduce you to the people who are helping us create a climate of inspiration, opportunity and excellence that keeps business strong and our communities vibrant," said new 2017 BACC Chairman of the Board Liz Luby, of and @properties | The Luby Group. Luby then officially announced

The 2017 BACC Award winners are:

BACC Hospitality of the Year Award: McGonigal's Pub. "McGonigal's Pub is a popular meeting place where you always know someone and both locals and visitors find refuge. Known for its neighborly ambience, fine Irish food and fantastic selection of spirits and draft beers, it's a community favorite for fundraisers that support charitable, passionate and important causes." Luby said.

Community Partner of the Year Recipient: JourneyCare. "As the largest nonprofit provider of hospice and palliative care in Illinois, JourneyCare has helped thousands of families who transition through the grief, loss and pain of watching a loved one suffer from a serious or terminal illness."  said Luby "They partner with an army of compassionate volunteers from the communities they serve to help patients live fully, with dignity, without pain, and on their own terms. Their presence here brings heart and soul to our region."

New Business of the Year Recipient: The Windy City Bulls. "The Windy City Bulls, a professional development league for our own Chicago Bulls, joined our community with a mission to bring families together to enjoy a favorite pastime -- basketball. Their efforts to engage community groups, create an activity for quality family time, and give back to the communities they serve have made them a local champion." Luby said.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

Volunteer of the Year Recipient: Nancy Roach with Upstream Investment Partners. Nancy has been a committed and loyal volunteer throughout the year, constantly challenging, inspiring and leading others. She Chairs our Diplomats Council and serves on many event committees. In each role, she is dedicated, committed and a force for excellence, according to Luby.

BACC Rookie of the Year Recipient: Gale Demarco-Cohen of SportClips- Fox River Grove. "Gale is a business owner loyal to the mission and focus of our Chamber. From the moment she joined BACC she committed to serve on committees, attended and supported numerous events, and brought an enthusiasm for helping others succeed." Luby said.

BACC Leadership Award: Patty Jacobsen with Jensen, Jacobsen & Associates and Ed Tobias of Tobias Family Dentistry. "Patty was a visible and charismatic leader during 2016. She dedicated hundreds of hours to advancing the mission of the Chamber and to personally meeting and assisting members. During her term BACC grew in membership, opportunity and the quality of our programs." said Luby. " Ed has served BACC for three years in this position with a firm dedication to help build a solid and financially responsible institution. He served with a steadfast commitment to see the Chamber excel."

Luby also announced the winners of the BACC Young Entrepreneurs award -- the Hidden Harbor team from the Barrington High School Business Incubator program. "The Hidden Harbor Team designed a stylish short with elastic pockets to allow for more flexibility. Their concept got $15,000 in funding from the Incubator Foundation and they are currently working with a manufacturer to complete their product; and gathering market research from focus groups at college campuses and the high school to fine tune their strategies. Congratulations to Tom Jomantas, Lucas Kinsey, Eli Polovina, Marcus Lewin, and Ryan Boundy." said Luby.


The 2017 board of directors was also officially inducted.

"Each year our Board sets the tone and direction for the Chamber and business community," said BACC President/CEO Suzanne Corr. "We are fortunate to have leaders representing a cross section of industry to guide and inspire us each year."

The BACC Board includes:

Executive Committee Members: Liz Luby, @Properties |The Luby Group/; Tom Cramer, Wintrust Mortgage-First Vice Chairman -- Membership; Dennis Kelly, FGMK Insurance, Inc.-Second Vice Chairman-Events; Charlotte Neault, Barrington Bank & Trust Co., N.A. --  Treasurer; and Past Chairman Patty Jacobsen, Jensen, Jacobsen & Associates, Inc.

2017 BACC Directors include: Lisa Caputo, Morgan Stanley -- The Schirmann Group; Joseph Connelly, BMO Harris Bank; Steve Cook, Quintessential Media Group; Liz Donofrio, Advocate Good Shepherd Hospital; Keith Hanson, Hanson Law Group, LLP; Andrea Herran, Focus HR Consulting; Paul Horcher, Refined Construction; John Jackson, 4ci Mgmt-Balancing Life's Challenges; Dr. Reinhold Llerena, Amita Health Medical Group; Doug McAllister, Douglas Automotive Inc.; Bryan McGonigal, McGonigal's Pub; Jennifer Prell, Paxem/Elderwerks; Scott Ray, Daily Herald Media Group; Barry Schimmel, Microshare Intl. LLC.; and Edmund Tobias, Tobias Family Dentistry.

The BACC Board also includes Advisory Board Members: Peg Blanchard, Village of Barrington; Brian Harris, Barrington 220 School District, Terry Jennings, Barrington Park District; Joyce Palmquist, Barrington Area Council on Aging; and Detlev Pansch, Barrington Area Library.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.