Trustees keep seats in fire district

Published4/7/2009 11:04 PM

All five trustees on the North Aurora and Countryside Fire Protection District board kept their seats despite opposition on the ballot Tuesday, according to unofficial results.

Altogether, eight candidates ran for five seats in the district's first election since a 2008 referendum in which voters agreed the board should be elected rather than appointed by the Kane County Board chairman.


With all 11 precincts reporting, the top five vote getters and their vote totals were trustees Gerald Auchstetter, 1,494; Kevin Fatten, 1,403; Richard Brackett, 1,356; Richard Haen, 1,325; and Alfred Coppes, 1,137.

Falling short of enough votes for seats on the board were challengers Steve Gaspardo, Norman Ruth and Dale Steward, who received between 593 and 755 votes each.

Auchstetter, 72, is a retired teacher and president of the North Aurora Fire Protection Association. Brackett, 73, is a retired electrician and a veteran firefighter with 28 years of professional experience.

Coppes, 59, is a manufacturing plant manager and veteran firefighter who was appointed to the board last year. Fatten, 45, is a software manager and current fire board member.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

All four campaigned on platforms of fiscal responsibility and experience.

Haen did not respond to a Daily Herald questionnaire seeking information on his candidacy.

The newly elected trustees will each serve six-year terms.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.