advertisement

Blackhawks confused by Tyler Bertuzzi interference vs. Canucks: ‘Not that great of a call’

The Blackhawks were either going ahead or going on a penalty kill when they challenged a goal call with just over five minutes remaining in the third period of a tied game with the Vancouver Canucks on Friday.

Even when the officials’ call stood and went against the Blackhawks, that didn’t alter Blackhawks coach Jeff Blashill’s mind.

“First off, I’d say I’d challenge it again 10 times out of 10,” Blashill said following his team’s 3-2 shootout loss.

What happened on the controversial call was that the Blackhawks’ Tyler Bertuzzi hit the puck into Canucks goalie Kevin Lankinen on a first attempt around the net. Lankinen denied the shot with his right leg pad, then Bertuzzi struck the puck again and knocked it into the net. The official immediately called goaltender interference and waved off the goal. The Blackhawks then challenged it.

After a lengthy review, the call stood. According to the league, “Video review supported the Referees’ call on the ice that Kevin Lankinen had covered the puck prior to Tyler Bertuzzi pushing his pad, which caused the puck to enter the net. According to Rule 69.3, ‘If an attacking player initiates contact with a goalkeeper, incidental or otherwise, while the goalkeeper is in his goal crease, and a goal is scored, the goal will be disallowed.’”

Bertuzzi held back most of his thoughts, but he didn’t agree.

“I won’t comment because I’ll probably get fined,” Bertuzzi said. “I think it was not that great of a call. That’s what I think.”

As confident as Blashill was, he did admit he hadn’t received enough information.

“I haven’t gotten an explanation yet as for why it wasn’t overturned, so maybe when I hear that, it’ll change my mind,” Blashill said. “When you look to the league, if you don’t push the goalie’s pad in, it’s generally a goal. I’m not sure, but I’ll wait to hear. I’ll have to call someone there and get an explanation. I never heard any reason why, so it’s hard for me to comment beyond that. But I was challenging it 100 percent and I’d challenge it again tomorrow.”

Blackhawks defenseman Connor Murphy added, “I thought it was going to be challenged. I like that we challenged it. The ref Kelly’s explanation to me was that the puck was partially covered, so they looked at that as a dead puck, even though the whistle still wasn’t blown. I understand the ruling, but I’ve seen a lot of goals in this league — even against as a D-man — (where) you’re battling, your goalie’s got it half under equipment and a guy just gives it one poke and it goes in. I didn’t see the goalie’s pad go in; it was more the puck first. So I thought it easily could’ve been counted the other way, too. But you just don’t know sometimes what the ref sees one way or the other.”

The Blackhawks were charged a penalty for the incorrect challenge, but were able to kill that off. The Canucks later won when Brock Boeser scored the lone goal in a four-round shootout.

© 2025 The Athletic Media Company. All Rights Reserved. Distributed by New York Times Licensing.