Five earn District 93 Distinguished Educator awards

Five people serving in Carol Stream Elementary District 93, which serves Carol Stream, Hanover Park and Bloomingdale, have received 2023-24 Distinguished Educator awards, officials said.

The winners came from more than 24 nominations within the district. All staff members are eligible, regardless of position. District senior leadership judged the nominees against a rubric to select the honorees.

Distinguished Educator awards for District 93 went to Gia Carr, a paraprofessional at the Early Childhood Center in Bloomingdale; Melissa De La Paz, an English and bilingual resource teacher at Stratford Middle School in Bloomingdale; and Amy Gray, the principal at Roy DeShane Elementary School in Carol Stream.

Other winners were Todd Levy, a physical development teacher at Elsie C. Johnson Elementary School in Hanover Park, and Erin Luedemann, the district’s middle school inclusion facilitator.

The educators will be recognized at the May 23 board of education meeting at the district office, 230 Covington Drive, Bloomingdale.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.