Glenbard South to put on ‘The Wizard of Oz’ musical

Glenbard South’s theater department will present “The Wizard of Oz,” as originally presented by the Royal Shakespeare Company.

Based on the classic motion picture, this musical brings you characters and songs that will delight audiences of all ages, those who know the story and those who are meeting Dorothy, Toto, and their friends for the first time. Join us over the rainbow.

“The Wizard of Oz” will be presented at 7:30 p.m. Thursday and Friday, April 11-12, and 2 p.m. Saturday, April 13, in the Glenbard South High School auditorium, 23W200 Butterfield Road in Glen Ellyn.

Kaitlyn Urbanowicz as Professor Marvel/The Wizard of Oz, left, and Danielle Allaway (Dorothy Gale) rehearse the scene where Dorothy encounters the quirky Professor Marvel after running away from her aunt and uncle’s farm. Courtesy of Glenbard South High School

Tickets are $12 and may be purchased at or with cash or check at the door. Patrons should enter at Door 9 for the performances.

The cast includes: Olivia Abbott, Valerie Aliga, Danielle Allaway, Jacinda Alvarez, Alaina Biesenkamp, Emily Cascio, Nichole Castillo, McKenna Cooke, Zachary Cooper, Katherine Costello, Ashton Czerwinski, Evelin DeLaCruz, Isabella Dodd, Delilah Durek, Maggie Falkenberg, Emerson Girling, Nora Gray, Amelia Guetzow, Lily Guetzow, Juliana Henry, MacKenzie Herlien, Joseph Johnson, Liyana Khader, Kanik LaFrancis, Ella Larramore, Alexis Mattson, William Prindible, Jordan Quaid-Bowman, Grace Rolston, Alexandra Rupp, Leah Rupp, Evan Sounthala, Samantha Stacy, Anna Stephens, Myk Totty, Kaitlyn Urbanowicz, and Athena Zamfoti.

It is based on the novel by L. Frank Baum, with music and lyrics by Harold Arlen and E.Y. Harburg. The background music was written by Herbert Stothart.

For more information or special seating arrangements, contact Jessica Keuth-Rahtjen at or Stephanie Wallace at

Glenbard South students Danielle Allaway (Dorothy Gale), center, is joined by Ella Larramore (Tree/Ensemble), left, and Olivia Abbott (Crow/Ensemble) during a tech rehearsal of "The Merry Old Land of Oz" scene. Courtesy of Glenbard South High School

The crews include: Jacqueline Acosta, Aiden Arquilla, Jacqueline Barrera, Adam Berntsen, Angelica Buchanan, Natalie Buhle, Lilian Buscher Lehr, Olivia Croasdale, Owen Croson, Peter Dede, Ashe DeFlorio, Maxine Domecka, Emily Everett, Arcier Funez Sanchez, Destiny Hudson-Mason, Khadija Ibrahim, James Jeschke, Sarah Jeschke, EmmaLeigh Kidder, Tia Knuth, Norma Lopez Rojas, Julia Noak, Jacob O’Connor, Minay Ozuna, Elizabeth Pekkarinen, Jessica Pellegrino, Quinlin Pounders, Isabella Ramirez, Precious Smith, Emerson Stern, Anna Sundquist, Nancy Sung, Zaria Taylor, Abigail VanDusen, Julianna Webb and Haley Wong.

Pit musicians include: Sophia Assaf, Aaron Berntsen, Grace Bittlingmaier, Amelia Buhle, Addison Burns, Dominic Costello, Maddox Daniels, Abigail Edwards, Erin Egan, Lorenza Foster Simbulan, Victoria Gaborek, Edor Gjata, Anna Goldman, Sarah Goodin, Kaitlin Haas, Nathan Le, Marie Matthies, Margaret McIntyre, Charlotte Moran, Jonathan Park, Emma Pekkarinen, Ariella Poi, Elliana Polsley, Joy Shim, Olivia Weber, Erin Whitehead, Riven Wisniewski and Simone Witort.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.