Nominations due for 48th annual Kane County Educator of the Year

Do you know a current educator in Kane County who leads, assists, and inspires the community every day?

Nominate them for Educator of the Year 2024. Nominations are due to the Kane County Regional Office of Education by Friday, March 8.

Nominees and represented school districts are invited to a formal dinner on Friday, May 3, at the Q Center in St. Charles. Social hour will begin at 5:30 p.m. with dinner served at 6:30 p.m. Tickets will be available after April 1 through local district offices.

Nominate an educator via

Last year’s Educator of the Year was Charles Hiscock, principal at West Aurora High School for West Aurora Unit District 129.

Listed are the education professionals who won their respective categories in the 2023 Educator of the Year:

  • Regional Superintendent Award: Neil Currie, St. Charles East High School, St. Charles Unit District 303
  • Educational Service Personnel Award: Adam Bryl, South Elgin High School, Elgin Area School District U-46
  • Student Support Personnel Award: Faye Licari, Kaneland Unit District 302
  • Private/Parochial Teacher Award: Sharon Elgar, Aurora Central Catholic High School
  • Early Career Educator Award: Michael Smith, Davis Primary School, St. Charles Unit District 303
  • Elementary/Early Childhood Teacher: Dr. Ann Butcher, Fearn Elementary, West Aurora Unit District 129
  • Middle School Teacher: Kiel Douglass, Waldo Middle School, East Aurora Unit District 131
  • High School Teacher: Emma Cole, Geneva High School, Geneva Unit District 304
  • School Administrator: Susan L. Harkin, Algonquin-based Community Unit District 300
Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.