A summary of the Daily Herald's endorsements in the June 28 Republican and Democratic primaries

This editorial represents the consensus opinion of the Daily Herald Editorial Board

Today is Election Day in the 2022 primaries to select candidates for each party for the November ballot. Here is a summary of Daily Herald endorsements in contested major-party races. The full text of individual endorsement editorials can be found online at


Governor: Richard Irvin

Secretary of State: Dan Brady

Attorney General: Steve Kim

U.S. Senator: Kathy Salvi

Congress, District 5: Malgorzata McGonigal

Congress, District 6: Gary Grasso

Congress, District 8: Chris Dargis

Congress, District 11: Cassandra Tanner Miller

Congress, District 14: Scott Gryder

Cook County Board, District 9: Matthew Podgorski

Cook County Board, District 15: Chuck Cerniglia

Senate District 27 : Bill Robertson

Senate District 43: Diane Harris

Senate District 49: James Lawson

House District 66: Connie Cain

DuPage County Board Chairman: Greg Hart

DuPage County Board, District 1 (Pick 3): Bob Dunn, Donald Puchalski, Sam Tornatore

DuPage County Board, District 2 (Pick 3): Daniel Kordik, Sean Noonan, Jennifer Veremis

DuPage County Board, District 4 (Pick 3): Grant Eckhoff, Reid Foltyniewicz, Paula McGowen

DuPage County Forest Preserve, District 2: Don Krause

DuPage County Forest Preserve, District 6: Al Murphy

Kane County Clerk: John "Jack" Cunningham

Kane County Board, District 11: Brian Jones

Kane County Board, District 12: Ken Shepro

Kane County Board, District 13: Todd Wallace

Kane County Board, District 15: Barbara Wojnicki

Lake County Board Dist. 1: Linda Pederson

Lake County Board Dist. 2: Adam Schlick

Lake County Sheriff: Mark Vice


Governor: J.B. Pritzker

Secretary of State: Alexi Giannoulias

Congress, District 3: Gilbert Villegas

Congress, District 6: Sean Casten

Congress, District 8: Raja Krishnamoorthi

Cook County Board President: Toni Preckwinkle

Cook County Sheriff: Tom Dart

Cook County Assessor: Fritz Kaegi

Cook County Board District 9: Maggie Trevor

Cook County Board, District 17: Dan Calandriello

Cook County Board, District 17: Elizabeth "Liz" Doody Gorman

Cook County Board of Review, District 1: Tammy Wendt

31st Senate District: Mary Edly-Allen

43rd Senate District: Rachel Ventura

51st House District: Chelsea Laliberte Barnes

62nd House District: Laura Faver Dias

77th House District: Kathleen Willis

83rd House District: Arad Boxenbaum

DuPage County Board, District 2 (Pick 3): Liz Chaplin, Paula Deacon Garcia, Yeena Yoo.

DuPage County Board, District 4 (Pick 3): Mary FitzGerald Ozog, Lynn LaPlante, Gary Fasules

Kane County Board, District 3: Anita Lewis

Kane County Board, District 11: Leslie Juby

Kane County Board, District 17: Deborah Allen

Kane County Board, District 22: Vern Tepe

Lake County Board Dist. 2: Shawn Killackey

Lake County Board District 3: Charles Nozicka

Lake County Board District 16: Yesenia Jaycee Ochoa

Lake County Board District 18: Sara Frederick Knizhnik

Lake County Sheriff: John Idleburg

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.