Judge reinstates GOP slate in Maine Township races

A Cook County judge has reversed the earlier decision of the Maine Township electoral board and reinstated a Republican slate of candidates for township offices on the April 6 ballot.

The electoral board's 2-1 vote to remove the slate was based on a procedural objection regarding the party's nominating caucus in December. That objection alleged the caucus for candidate selection was held outside the township.

Earl Wilson of Des Plaines, the Republican candidate for Maine Township supervisor, acknowledged the caucus was held in an empty parking lot outside the township for several reasons, but he disputed that was cause for removal.

Judge Nichole C. Patton agreed in a written decision on an appeal this week.

In the ruling, Patton said state legislators purposely did not insert the language "within the township boundaries" as a provision because they were confident leaders of various parties would choose a location that was best for their political committees.

"In contrary to the Respondent's interpretation of the legislature's intent, the legislature has no interest in micromanaging the locations of township caucuses," Patton wrote. "That is why the only requirement is simply that the chairperson let the township clerk know of the time and location so that it can be published to the community."

The ruling reinstates the candidacies of Wilson and fellow Republicans Smitesh Shah for township clerk, J.D. Diganvker for highway commissioner, and Roger Shubert, Jim Stinson, Alicia Bailey, and Paul Wronkiewicz for the four trustee seats.

The Republican slate is not putting up a candidate to challenge Assessor Susan Moylan-Krey.

The rest of the Democratic slate is Karen Dimond for supervisor, Pete Gialamas for clerk, Ed Beauvais for highway commissioner, and Kimberly Jones, Kelly Maron-Horvath, Asif Malik and Jim Maher for trustee.

Republican slate to appeal removal from Maine Township ballot

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.