Hoffman Estates candidates stay on ballot

The Hoffman Estates electoral board has ruled against an objection to the candidacies of a slate of challengers for four village board positions, and all the candidates who filed last month will still appear on the April 6 ballot.

Resident Andrew Nawrocki had filed an objection to the nominating petitions of the "Hoffman Estates Forward" slate - mayoral candidate Mark Mueller and trustee hopefuls James Murre, Renee Robinson and Gaurav Patel - on the basis they didn't name Kane County but only Cook County as the village's geographical location.

The electoral board decided that was not a basis for the candidates' removal. The only property in the village that lies in Kane County has no residents living on it.

Also running are: Mayor Bill McLeod and incumbent trustees Karen Mills, Karen Arnet and Michael Gaeta; another mayoral candidate Nicholas Waryas; and Village Clerk Bev Romanoff, who is unopposed for reelection.

McLeod, board incumbents to seek 2021 re-election in Hoffman Estates

2017 Hoffman Estates trustee candidate will run for mayor

Hoffman Estates mayor faces pair of reelection challenges

Hoffman Estates trustees vote to put maximum 3 advisory questions on April 6 ballot

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.