Stand-ins appointed after Elk Grove mayor and trustee recuse selves from electoral board

A Cook County judge has appointed two public members to the Elk Grove Village electoral board to hear two objections to a term limits referendum.

Judge Sharon Sullivan appointed attorneys Christopher Cohen and Daniel Kelly in place of Mayor Craig Johnson and Trustee Nancy Czarnik on the three-member panel.

Johnson and Czarnik recused themselves because they would be subject to the March 17, 2020, binding ballot question, which will ask voters whether the mayor and trustees should be limited to two consecutive 4-year terms.

Cohen and Kelly are set to join Village Clerk Lorrie Murphy on the three-member panel for a meeting at 2 p.m. Monday.

They'll hear two objections filed against resident Tim Burns' referendum: one, originally filed by Benjamin Lee in October but recently remanded to the electoral board by a Cook County judge, and the other filed Monday by Gil Schumm, treasurer of the Committee to Oppose the Retroactive Term Limits Referendum, which is backed by the mayor.

The electoral board met briefly Friday morning as a formality, with a quorum established by Czarnik and Murphy. Johnson was at the village-sponsored Makers Wanted Bahamas Bowl.

Term limit push in Elk Grove Village could end mayor's long run

Elk Grove Village board maneuvers to scuttle term limits referendum

New state law might scrub Elk Grove term limits referendum

Big money on both sides of Elk Grove term limits issue

Bid to block Elk Grove term limits referendum delayed, for now

Elk Grove Village voters could see 2 questions on the March ballot

Term limit opponents file an objection to referendum

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.