Suburban educators among statewide honorees

Several suburban educators were among 26 outstanding administrators honored this week at the fourth annual Superintendents of Distinction and IPA Awards of Excellence Luncheon.

The Illinois Association of School Administrators, Illinois Principals Association, Horace Mann Cos. and Illinois State Board of Education hosted the awards Tuesday in Springfield.

Northwest Suburban High School District 214 Superintendent David Schuler was named Superintendent of the Year. Earlier this year, Schuler also was named the 2018 National Superintendent of the Year. He is the first superintendent from Illinois to win the award given by the School Superintendents Association in 31 years.

Each year, regional representatives select local Superintendents of Distinction based on leadership for learning, communication, professionalism, and community involvement.

IPA members, teachers, administrators and board members nominate outstanding principals and assistant principals within their regions. A committee of past IPA presidents selects a Principal of the Year for elementary, middle and high schools and an Assistant Principal of the Year.

Among this year's award winners were:

• Jack Baldermann, Westmont High School, High School Principal of the Year.

• Daniel Cates, Palatine-Schaumburg High School District 211, Superintendent of Distinction.

• Crystal England, Henry Cowherd Middle School in Aurora, Middle School Principal of the Year.

• Michael Lubelfeld, Deerfield District 109, Superintendent of Distinction.

• Victoria Tabbert, Queen Bee District 16, Superintendent of Distinction.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.