Breaking News Bar
updated: 4/9/2013 9:41 PM

Incumbents win in District 59 school race

Success - Article sent! close
  • Barbara Somogyi

    Barbara Somogyi

  • Seana McPherson

    Seana McPherson


Elk Grove Township Elementary District 59 school board incumbents Barbara Somogyi and Seana McPherson won two, 2-year terms on the board with challenger John Strzelecki trailing a few hundred votes behind.

With all 39 precincts counted, unofficial vote totals show Somogyi garnered 1,634 votes, McPherson received 1,610 votes and Strzelecki earned 1,278 votes.

Somogyi, 69, of Elk Grove Village, has served 35 years on the board. McPherson, of Mount Prospect, was appointed to the board in February 2012.

During the campaign, Somogyi and McPherson said dealing with the growing diversity among the student population and maintaining sound financial planning for the future are two important challenges facing the district.

There are also four candidates running uncontested for four 4-year seats in District 59. They are Janice Krinsky, Karen Osmanski, Sharon Roberts and Mardell Schumacher.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.