Breaking News Bar
updated: 3/18/2013 11:11 AM

Women leaders sought for YWCA Elgin awards

Success - Article sent! close
Submitted by YWCA Elgin

The YWCA Elgin will host its 30th annual Leader Luncheon Thursday, May 9, in Streamwood. This event is attended by hundreds of area leaders, business representatives and volunteers who acknowledge and honor women in the Elgin area who have made a significant difference in the community.

Do you know a woman in the Elgin area who has demonstrated qualities of leadership and commitment to excellence in the areas of the arts, business, communications/technology, education, public service, social service, volunteer/community service and/or racial justice?

Nominations may be submitted by individuals, groups and/or organizations. Deadline for submissions is 4 p.m. Thursday, March 21.

The YWCA Leader Luncheon awards categories are:

• Margaret Hillis Award for the Arts: Hillis was the Elgin Symphony Orchestra music director for 14 years and conducted the CSO for 35 years.

• Beatrice Dorsey Award for Business and Professions: A successful local business woman for 45 years, Dorsey was instrumental in assisting women to succeed in business.

• Marguerite Henry Award for Communications/Technology: Author of more than 50 books, including children's classics, Henry earned many national literacy awards.

• Harriet Gifford and Hattie Griffin Award for Education: Gifford established the first school in Elgin in 1836, initiating the foundation for local educational systems. Co-founder of the YWCA Elgin, Hattie Griffin was an educator for more than 50 years.

• Myrtle Spiegler Award for Public Service: As the first woman to assume the position of Elgin city clerk, Spiegler designed the city flag and paved the way for women in public service.

• Marie Grolich Award for Social Service: As executive director of the YWCA of Elgin for 20 years, Grolich spearheaded innovative programs to benefit the community.

• Marjorie Leonard Award for Volunteer/Community Service: As a volunteer, Leonard donated countless hours to civic organizations and social agencies.

• Racial Justice Award: One award will be given to a woman who has demonstrated achievement and leadership in the field of Racial Justice.

Nomination forms are available online at or call the YWCA at (847) 742-7930 for more information or tickets to the event.

Get articles sent to your inbox.