Breaking News Bar
updated: 2/1/2013 1:35 PM

Wildwood Boy Scouts Earned OA Membership June 30

Success - Article sent! close
  • Zack Byerly, Steve Byerly, Scott Seiler, Tim Weber, Nick Zblewski, Tony Rice and Marshall Rice.

    Zack Byerly, Steve Byerly, Scott Seiler, Tim Weber, Nick Zblewski, Tony Rice and Marshall Rice. - Evelyn Weber

J Zblewski

Congratulations to Wildwood Park District Boy Scout Troop 671 Scouts and leaders who became members of the Order of the Arrow at Camp Makajawan in Northern Wisconsin June 30th, 2012: Nick Zblewski, Marshall Rice and Tony Rice.

As a member of the Order of the Arrow (OA), they are a member of Scouting's National Honor Society. They must fulfill the trust and confidence bestowed upon them by their fellow Scouts with this mighty purpose: The essence of their existence is that they must be those campers who best exemplify the Scout Oath and Law in their daily lives and by such conduct cause others to emulate their actions. They bear the Obligation of the OA, mindful of their high tradition, ponder that which is their purpose, and pledge themselves to cheerful service.

Dr. E. Umer Goodman founded the Order of the Arrow in 1915, along with Assistant Carroll A. Edson. They used the lore and legends of the Delaware Indians in their new brotherhood. Scouts and spectators enter into a natural amphitheater single file in total silence. The ceremony was held around a huge bonfire with 19' logs piled 10' high. The chosen ones were led into the woods, slept on the ground, worked in the forest with minimal food and did not speak for the 24 hour period. The purpose is to SERVE CHEERFULLY. An induction ceremony was held the following evening.

After 10 months of service to their Boy Scout troop, OA members are eligible to seal their membership in the Brotherhood ceremony. Congratulations to new Brotherhood Status members: Scott Seiler, Zack Byerly, Steve Byerly, and Assistant Scout Master Tim Weber.

Other Wildwood Park District Boy Scout Troop 671 and Venturing Crew OA current members include: Stephen Payne, Dale Message, Andrew Chojnacki, Cindy Fish, Glenn Wilson, Richard Carver, Spencer Carver, Eric Seiler, Matthew Message, Andrew Klein, Sean Korecky, Tim Tomei, Eric Schmidt, Kirk Osterman, and Richard Pavletic.

    Winner - 2015 Best Website
    Illinois Press Association
    Illinois Press Association