Breaking News Bar
updated: 1/26/2012 6:08 PM

Wheeling Dems announce primary endorsements

Success - Article sent! close
Submitted by Wheeling Township Democratic Organization

The Wheeling Township Democratic Organization is endorsing Tammy Duckworth over Raja Krishnamoorthi for the party's nomination to the 8th Congressional District seat.

The winner of the March primary will take on incumbent Republican Rep. Joe Walsh in the November general election.

The organization voted unanimously to endorse Rep. Jan Schakowsky for re-election to Congress in the 9th Congressional District.

In the 10th district, members discussed the merits of all five Democratic candidates and decided to co-endorse Ilya Sheyman and John Tree.

In the 29th State Senate District the group will endorse Julie Morrison. For the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District they are endorsing Debra Shore, Kari Steele and Stella Black.

Ed Maloney received the groups endorsement for the Cook County circuit court and Andrea Scleifer for the Cook County Subcircuit Court 12th District.

In a unanimous decision, WTDO members also voted to endorse the following uncontested Democratic candidates: President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden, State Sen. Terry Link, State Rep. Elaine Nekritz, State Rep. Carol Sente, Cook County Recorder Karen Yarbrough and Cook County State's Attorney Anita Alvarez

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.