Breaking News Bar
posted: 8/4/2014 7:35 AM

Buffalo Grove Scouts Win Scholarships

Success - Article sent! close
  • Scholarship Board Members Debbie Bartelt, award winner Allen Kuncharia, Jennifer WemstromTroop 140

      Scholarship Board Members Debbie Bartelt, award winner Allen Kuncharia, Jennifer WemstromTroop 140

Saint Mary Public Relations

On June 9, 2014 at the Court of Honor Ceremony, the fourth annual Sandra Meinholz Spirit of Scouting Foundation Scholarship was awarded to Allen Kuncharia and Declan Sawyer, Boy Scout Troop 140. Each scout received a $500 scholarship that is placed in a personal account to be used toward their advancement in scouting. Troop 140 is located in Buffalo Grove and chartered out of Saint Mary Parish.

The Sandra Meinholz Spirit of Scouting Foundation was created in memory of Sandra Meinholz, a long time Buffalo Grove resident and member of Saint Mary Parish. Meinholz was a champion of scouting. Meinholz, a den leader and committee member for Pack and Troop 140, held many positions within the Pack. She actively recruited and introduced families to scouting. Meinholz believed scouting was the perfect path for boys to build good character and become good citizens. Friends described her passion for scouting as infectious. Her enthusiasm and love for scouting prompted the creation of the foundation in her honor after her untimely passing. "We are committed to enriching the lives of young men of excellent character by offering them extended opportunities in Scouting. There is no better way to remember and honor our dear friend than to help young men achieve their potential through scouting." said a Foundation member.

Order Reprint Print Article
Interested in reusing this article?
Custom reprints are a powerful and strategic way to share your article with customers, employees and prospects.
The YGS Group provides digital and printed reprint services for Daily Herald. Complete the form to the right and a reprint consultant will contact you to discuss how you can reuse this article.
Need more information about reprints? Visit our Reprints Section for more details.

Contact information ( * required )

Success - request sent close

Scholarship applications are accepted each Spring from scouts within Troop 140. Awards are given to two scouts each year based on their applications which include personal essays, recommendations, and their involvement in scouting. For more information on the Sandra Meinholz Spirit of Scouting foundation go to

Share this page