Breaking News Bar
updated: 4/10/2013 12:40 AM

Two new members join incumbents on Dist. 203 board

Success - Article sent! close
  • Kristin Fitzgerald

    Kristin Fitzgerald

  • Jackie Romberg

    Jackie Romberg

  • Susan Crotty

    Susan Crotty

  • Donna Wandke

    Donna Wandke


Naperville voters retained the two incumbents seeking re-election to Naperville Unit District 203 board and elected two newcomers from a field of 11 candidates.

According to unofficial results, with all DuPage and Will County precincts reporting, Kristin Fitzgerald led all with 6,410 votes followed by incumbent Jackie Romberg with 4,738, incumbent Susan Crotty with 4,602 and Donna Wandke with 3,520.

Romberg and Crotty each said they were humbled to retain their seats and excited to work with new boar members. Ultimately, Romberg said voters "value our stewardship of their dollars."

"We're keeping our schools moving in the right direction and I'm humbled that the voters are going to let me keep doing this for four more years."

Crotty said she and Romberg each benefitted from a "lack of contentious issues" before the board.

"To me, that says a lot about the work we've already done and are committed to keep doing," Crotty said. "I'm honored to be able to continue serving this community and excited about the work that stands before us."

Wandke, a church youth leader and former teacher, said she ran her campaign the "old fashioned way, rooted in faith and knocking on 2,100 doors."

She said she has a passion for education and is finally able to serve the community now that her children. are in school.

"I've been called to serve in this capacity and I've been waiting until the time was right," Wandke said. "I'm glad we're past the campaigning. Now I can be a voice for community bring my analytical thought process to the table."

Crotty said Fitzgerald and Wandke will "fit right in" with the current board.

"It's great to have two new people and two new perspectives," Crotty said. "We had a rich field of great candidates."

Romberg said she believes Fitzgerald and Wandke both understand the needs of the community and the work that lies ahead.

Other candidates, in the order in which they received votes were Jay Fisher, David Fish, Charles Cush, Neil Samuels, Derek Krauss, Sabina Qadir and Heather Rajamoney.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.