Breaking News Bar
updated: 7/5/2011 7:11 AM

Northwest Community staffer awarded cancer society honor

Success - Article sent! close
  • Norman B. Petroski

    Norman B. Petroski


• Northwest Community Hospital oncology social worker Kim Jensen was among 11 outstanding cancer care providers, from a variety of backgrounds and regions, chosen to receive the 2011 American Cancer Society Lane W. Adams Quality of Life Award, a prestigious national prize for cancer caregiving.

The award recognizes individuals who have made a difference through innovation, leadership, and consistent excellence in providing compassionate, skilled care and counsel to persons living with cancer and their families.

Jensen was recognized for her compassion providing crisis counseling to patients and their families as well as her ability to focus on every newly diagnosed patient and the resources they need to get through treatment and beyond.

• Congregation Beth Judea's United Synagogue Youth has one of the largest memberships in the Chicago region. The group sponsors 45 chapter events annually, along with 10 regional and international Shabbatonim Conventions, socials and tzedakah (charity programs). United Synagogue Youth also sponsors six summer pilgrimages to Israel, Spain, Italy, Poland and Eastern Europe, along with its popular USY-On-Wheels Program.

The Beth Judea youth group recently had its annual elections. The new executive board for 2011-2012 includes: President: Adam Bender of Buffalo Grove; Israeli Affairs Vice President: Josh Heiger of Buffalo Grove; Religion Education Vice President: Sam Sussman of Buffalo Grove; Membership/Kadima Vice President: Cara Golberg of Long Grove; Social Action/Tikun Olam Vice President: Rachel Bikshorn of Long Grove; Communications Vice President: Matt Ganden of Buffalo Grove; Programming Vice President: Joel Spiegel of Buffalo Grove; and Past Co-Presidents: Rachel Bikshorn of Long Grove and Eric Golberg of Long Grove.

Des Plaines resident Norman B. Petroski received the 2011 AAIA-ASE World Class Technician Award from the Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association and the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence. Petroski, a technician at Wheels Incorporated, is one of only 20 professional auto technicians among the more than 759,000 in the United States to be selected.

Petroski successfully tested and obtained ASE certification in 22 specialty areas. He is one of only 1,813 technicians honored with this distinction since the award was established in 1986.

Recipients receive a special certificate signed by the presidents of ASE and AAIA, a logo medallion and embroidered shoulder insignia. Additionally, their name is perpetually inscribed in an honor book located in the Automotive Hall of Fame in Dearborn, Mich.