Breaking News Bar
updated: 4/6/2011 4:26 PM

Geneva park board president retains seat

Success - Article sent! close
  • Susan Vander Veen

    Susan Vander Veen


Geneva park board President Susan Vander Veen retained her seat in Tuesday's election, according to unofficial vote totals.

Vander Veen received 1,528 votes. Her opponent, Sherry O'Berry, received 883. Voter turnout was 14 percent, according to the Kane County clerk's office.

Vander Veen has served on the board since 1999. She is a landscape architect.

There was only one seat up for election. The term is four years.

In Batavia, Kevin Riley and Gary Foiles were uncontested and finished with 1,252 and 1,139 votes, respectively.

In St. Charles, Nancy Cox had 2,465 votes, Jim Cooke had 2,333 votes and Bob Thomson had 2,257 votes and were uncontested.

In Sugar Grove, Mary Ochsenschlager had 987 votes and Perry Clark had 750 votes to win four-year terms, while Kevin Johnson was uncontested for a 2-year term and had 1,031 votes, according to unofficial results.