Breaking News Bar
updated: 4/5/2011 10:09 PM

Incumbents retain seats in Round Lake Dist. 116

Success - Article sent! close
  • Nanci Radford

      Nanci Radford

  • Tammie Hanna

      Tammie Hanna

  • Lori Berdenis

      Lori Berdenis

  • Annette McGinley

      Annette McGinley

By Kerry Lester

Five incumbent Round Lake Area Unit School District 116 board members won re-election Tuesday.

Four sitting board members -- Lori Weiss Berdenis, Nanci Radford, Annette Negrete McGinley and Tammie Hanna -- retained their seats, fighting off a challenge from newcomer Mellody Gomez. All four seats carry 4-year terms.

Order Reprint Print Article
Interested in reusing this article?
Custom reprints are a powerful and strategic way to share your article with customers, employees and prospects.
The YGS Group provides digital and printed reprint services for Daily Herald. Complete the form to the right and a reprint consultant will contact you to discuss how you can reuse this article.
Need more information about reprints? Visit our Reprints Section for more details.

Contact information ( * required )

Success - request sent close

In a separate election, incumbent Michael Eckhardt was the lone candidate on the ballot for a 2-year term.

According to unofficial totals, with 22 of 22 precincts reporting and 1,503 votes cast, Radford led with 337 votes; McGinley was second with 333 votes; Hanna with 329 votes and Berdenis with 314 votes. Gomez received 190 votes. Eckhart was elected with 415 votes.

"I'm just so pleased I'm going to be a part of what's going to be happening," Radford said. "This board has worked so hard to get to where it's at."

After years of state financial oversight, the District 116 board is again controlling its own destiny. Acting responsibly when it comes to financial matters and keeping the district fiscally strong was the top campaign issue for the incumbents.

Share this page