Articles filed under County Board 7

Show 1-17 of 17
  • Monica Silva: Candidate Profile Oct 10, 2014 3:51 PM
    Candidate information for Monica Silva, running for Kane County board District 7

  • Kane County board District 7 Silva: Candidate Profile Oct 9, 2014 11:22 AM
    Candidate information for Kane County board District 7 Silva, running for Kane County board District 7

  • Steve Carlson: Candidate Profile Sep 21, 2012 4:37 PM
    Candidate information for Steve Carlson, running for Lake County board District 7

  • Monica Silva: Candidate Profile Sep 21, 2012 4:36 PM
    Candidate information for Monica Silva, running for Kane County board District 7

  • Monica Silva: Candidate Profile Feb 10, 2012 4:22 PM
    Candidate information for Monica Silva, running for Kane County board District 7

  • Steve Carlson: Candidate Profile Feb 10, 2012 4:32 PM
    Candidate information for Steve Carlson, running for Lake County board District 7

  • GOP incumbents win in Kane Nov 2, 2010 11:57 PM
    District 9:< Incumbent Republican Jim Mitchell defeated Democratic challenger Chris Faber Tuesday in the race for District 9. Mitchell had 4,123 votes to Faber’s 2,681, according to unofficial totals. The North Aurora men had disagreed over the construction of a new jail in 2009, with Faber blaming Mitchell and the rest of the board for building a jail that was over capacity the day it opened. They also were divided over video gambling, which Faber supported but Mitchell opposed. Mitchell has said this will be his last term. District 13: Incumbent Republican Phil Lewis was re-elected Tuesday over Democratic challenger Stephen Bruesewitz in District 13. With 11 of 12 precincts reporting, Lewis had 2,371 votes to Bruesewitz’s 1,495, according to unofficial totals. Bruesewitz had been critical of the board’s spending in light of health department layoffs, while Lewis blamed the downsizing on excessive state debt owed to the county. District 15: Incumbent Republican Barb Wojnicki won re-election Tuesday over Democrat Kay Catlin in District 15. According to unofficial totals, Wojnicki had 5,606 votes to Catlin’s 2,055. Wojnicki and Catlin, both of St. Charles, had disagreed on the causes of overcrowding at the new county jail. But they both were in favor of cutting budgets in other departments and using reserve funds to fund an expansion. District 19: Elgin Republican Catherine Hurlbut was returned to the Kane County Board, winning re-election Tuesday over Elgin Democrat Jim Shales and independent Victor LaPorte. Hurlbut had 2,678 votes over Shales’ 2,044 and LaPorte’s 452. The incumbent identified fiscal responsibility as her main campaign issue, deriding elected officials who chronically overspend when county departments are able to stay within their budgets. Hurlbut was targeted during the campaign season for the late payment of property taxes on her Elgin office building, which she blamed on a late payment from a client. District 21: Republican Tim Haley of West Dundee defeated Carpentersville Democrat Joseph Haimann. With all precincts reporting, unofficial results show Haley with 1,901 votes to Haimann’s 1,466 votes. Haimann entered the race recently when incumbent John Fahy dropped out because of a job promotion. The candidates were split over the proposed Longmeadow Parkway Toll Bridge. While Haley supported the $1.50 proposed toll over the Fox River crossing, Haimann questioned if motorists would pay the toll. District 23: Republican Maggie Auger, of Algonquin, won election to the county board over Democrat Linda Nuneman, of Sleepy Hollow. With all precincts reporting, Auger had 3,429 votes to Nuneman’s 1,725. Auger said reducing the board by one or two seats would be sufficient. Her opponent, though, proposed halving the board. Auger will replace John Mayer, who did not seek re-election. District 3: Democrat Juan Reyna defeated Republican Dennis Burgin Tuesday in the race for Kane County Board District 3. Reyna had 1,079 votes to Burgin’s 644 votes, according to unofficial vote totals. Neither Reyna nor Burgin, both of Aurora, have held public office. District 7: Independent Monica Silva toppled long-serving incumbent Democrat Gerald Jones by about 350 votes Tuesday, ending Jones’ six-term run. With all precincts reporting, Silva had 1,580 votes to Jones’ 1,222, according to unofficial totals. Jones was one of the longest-serving members on the board and the senior Democrat.

  • Incumbents win Lake Co. board seats Nov 3, 2010 12:56 AM
    Voters gave incumbent Lake County Board members a big thumbs-up Tuesday, convincingly re-electing veterans and giving newcomers enough support to continue their work.

  • Judges, clerk, county board on ballot in Kane Nov 1, 2010 6:16 PM
    Two candidates for circuit judge are among those squaring off today as Kane County voters head to the polls. Republican David Akemann and Democrat John Dalton are each seeking a six-year term in the 16th Judicial Circuit.

  • Lake County voters get their say Nov 1, 2010 5:53 PM
    Whether it be with relief the bombardment of nasty political ads is ending or with conviction that at last your chance to have a say has arrived, voters statewide and locally head to the polls with a lot at stake.

  • Kane County District 3: Burgin Oct 20, 2010 4:30 PM
    Democrat Juan Reyna and Republican Dennis Burgin are newcomers to the political arena, though Burgin is an Aurora Township precinct committeeman.

  • Lake County District 7: Carlson Oct 20, 2010 1:20 PM
    Republican incumbent Steve Carlson faces Democrat challenger David Weinstein in the race for the District 7 seat on the Lake County Board and Forest Preserve Board.

  • County board candidates differ on new program creation Oct 22, 2010 9:50 PM
    Lake County Board Republican incumbent Steve Carlson and his Democrat opponent differ on the idea of whether new programs should be created.

  • Jones narrowly retains Kane board seat Feb 3, 2010 12:01 AM
    Some expected Gerald Jones, the most senior Democrat on the Kane County Board, to coast to another term representing District 7 Tuesday night.

  • Cundari, Jones clash on delivery of H1N1 vaccine Jan 23, 2010 12:01 AM
    One of the aspects of Gerry Jones' long service on the Kane County Board that he takes the most pride in is serving as chairman of the Public Health Committee. But it's in that role that Lorena Cundari believes Jones most showed an inability to lead.

  • For Kane County Board District 7, Democratic: Jones Jan 20, 2010 12:01 AM
    Gerald Jones is our choice in the Democratic primary for Kane County Board District 7. He is being challenged by Lorena Cundari.

  • Dist. 7 hopeful shares ideas on issues facing Kane County Board Jan 17, 2010 6:14 AM
    Two Democrats are vying in the Feb. 2 primary for Kane County Board District 7. Incumbent Gerald Jones, 65, of Aurora, a retiree who worked as a network administrator at Fermilab, is challenged by Lorena Cundari.

Show 1-17 of 17
Latest Video


Most Commented
Top Jobs

    View all Top Jobs Place a job ad



    • Daily Herald eEdition Zillow /real estate page
    • Dh innovation award 2 - Dh innovation award 2 Report card checker - report card checker
    • On Guard series Newspaper archives -- Monday or anyday
    • National Newspaper Week - National Newspaper Week



    Connect with a business or service in your area fast. First select a town, then enter a search term or choose one of the listed popular searches:

    Don't see your town listed? Visit our full directory to begin your search.