Breaking News Bar
posted: 6/23/2014 3:04 PM

Schaumburg's 2014 Prairie Arts Festival award-winners announced

Success - Article sent! close
Submitted by Village of Schaumburg

The village of Schaumburg presented its 27th annual Prairie Arts Festival this past Saturday, May 24, and Sunday, May 25, on the grounds of the Robert O. Atcher Municipal Center.

Beautiful May weather drew large crowds and this year's fest featured the work of over 130 juried fine artists from Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Tennessee and Wisconsin. In addition to the exciting display of ceramics, drawing, fiber arts, glass, graphics, jewelry, mixed media, painting, photography, pottery, and sculpture, the fest also featured live musical performances, children's art activities coordinated by the Schaumburg Park District, and a tasty array of refreshments provided by three food vendors, and new this year, five food trucks, which also captured the eye of the attendees and participants alike.

This year's award winners include:

• First Place: Scott Kiefer, Printmaking, Berwyn

• Second Place: Natalya Sots, Sculpture/Pottery, Schaumburg

• Third Place: Kae Taylor, Fiber, Madison, Wisconsin

• Merit Award: James Claydon, Glass, Riverside; Robert Copeland, Photography, McDonald, Tennessee; Dawn Donati, Glass, Westchester; James French, Photography, Niles, Michigan; Timothy Johnson, Photography, La Grange; Joan Ladendorf, Photography, Hanover Park; DeAnn & Michael Rogers, Woodworking, Wabash, Indiana; and Steven Shaikh, Jewelry, Fort Wayne, Indiana,

For additional information, call (847) 895-3600 weekdays from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. or visit