Breaking News Bar
posted: 5/28/2014 7:22 AM

Don Rosedale Elected New Park Board President

Success - Article sent! close
  • Joseph Weber passes the gavel to new Park Board President Donald J. RosedaleGene Haring

    Joseph Weber passes the gavel to new Park Board President Donald J. RosedaleGene Haring

Lisa Haring

Nominations for new Des Plaines Park Board officers were unanimously confirmed at the May 20 Park Board meeting. Donald J. Rosedale will serve as President, Jana B. Haas will serve as Vice-President, and James F. Grady will serve as Treasurer for the upcoming year. Commissioners Joseph Weber and William J. Yates complete the five-member board, that is responsible for the development of Park District policies, long range planning, and monthly review of Park District Financial and Operations Reports. In addition, the Board, which is elected by Des Plaines residents, hires and maintains oversight of the Executive Director.

Rosedale was elected to the Park Board of Commissioners in 1999, and has served as President, Vice-President, and Treasurer during his terms. Rosedale is also a member of The Izaak Walton League, a non-profit conservation organization, an active member of the Kiwanis Club of Des Plaines, and a Shriner with the Freemason Organization.

Rosedale served on the board of the Frisbie Senior Center in Des Plaines in 1999 and on the Board of the Des Plaines Historical Society from 1991-1999, where he was the president from 1993-1996. From 1991-1999, Rosedale was on the Board of the Chamber of Commerce and served as its President in 1994. Rosedale was a member of Keep Des Plaines Beautiful, from 1990 to 1992, and served on the Police and Fireman board from 2000 to 2009.

Today, in addition to his full-time position as Operations Manager at Contour Saws, in Des Plaines, and serving as a Park Board commissioner, Rosedale is active with the Des Plaines Arts Council and the Illinois Friends of the Parks organizations. In January of 2013, he was named to the Community Service Honor Roll, in recognition of his time, talents, and energy spent improving the quality of leisure services available to the community.

The Park Board is a legal governing authority through which the business of the District is conducted. Elected by the public for six-year terms, the Board consists of five volunteer commissioners, who meet on the third Tuesday of the month in the David L. Markworth Boardroom, at the Administrative and Leisure Center, 2222 Birch Street. The next meeting is on June 17, at 7:00pm. Meetings are open to the public and persons wishing to have items placed on the agenda should notify the Board Secretary, Donald Miletic, at the Administrative office by letter, or by telephone, 847-391-5700, no later than the Wednesday before the Park Board meeting. Board agendas and minutes are available to view and download at