Breaking News Bar
posted: 4/14/2014 3:29 PM

Dist. 46 announces National Merit Finalists

Success - Article sent! close
Submitted by U-46

Elgin Area School District U-46 recently announced its National Merit Finalists for the 2013-2014 school year, including Bartlett High School student Grant Wetherton, Elgin High School student Jessica Rusick, South Elgin High School student Grace Comerford, and Streamwood High School student Stephanie Ban.

This prestigious distinction is awarded to less than one percent of U.S. high school students.

"The National Merit Scholarship program is one of the most prestigious academic honors," said Superintendent José M. Torres. "We commend our students on the hard work and discipline they demonstrated to receive this recognition."

The National Merit Program is privately financed and the majority of scholarships offered are underwritten by approximately 440 independent sponsor organizations. Approximately, 8,300 of the more than 15,000 finalists are selected for the Merit Scholarship award. National Merit Finalists are evaluated on test scores, academic record, written recommendations, student activities and leadership skills, and an essay.