Breaking News Bar
posted: 12/24/2013 10:50 AM

Dist. 62 board president honored

Success - Article sent! close
  • Brenda Murphy

    Brenda Murphy

Daily Herald report

Brenda Murphy, president of the Des Plaines Elementary District 62 school board, has been named the 2013 Thomas Lay Burroughs Award recipient by the Illinois State Board of Education. The award recognizes educational leadership at the local level, and Murphy, elected in 1999, was selected for her leadership in helping students make academic gains, and closing the achievement gap with improved technology and an emphasis on early learning education. This distinction has been given to school board presidents in Illinois since 1991 in honor of Thomas Lay Burroughs, who was chairman of the State Board of Education and the Collinsville, IL school board. Des Plaines Mayor Matt Bogusz declared Dec. 16 to be Brenda Murphy Day in Des Plaines.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.