Breaking News Bar
updated: 4/9/2013 11:16 PM

Incumbents retains seats in Lake Zurich District 95 voting

Success - Article sent! close
  • Kathy Brown

    Kathy Brown

  • Eileen Maloney

    Eileen Maloney

  • Scott McConnell

    Scott McConnell

  • Lisa Warren

    Lisa Warren


The Lake Zurich Unit District 95 school board will see a mix of three people with experience and one with a fresh perspective among the four newly elected board members.

With all precincts reporting, unofficial totals showed incumbent Lisa Warren retaining her seat with 2,239 votes. Also returning to the board is two-term incumbent Kathy Brown, a Palatine District 15 teacher and board president who received 2,172 votes. Fellow incumbent Scott McConnell received 2,070 votes. Warren, executive director of a not-for-profit group, was appointed to the board in 2012 as was McConnell, technology director for Allstate.

The lone newcomer to win a seat was Eileen Maloney, vice president at Zurich North America, who received 1,781 votes. Her fellow newcomers John Shaw and Russell J. Cerqua received 1,722 and 947 votes respectively.

The K-12 district has rebounded to sound financial footing the past few years. Teachers are under contract for two more years and there is a plan in place to repair and renovate aging schools.

Candidates concurred that advancing technology and expanding opportunities for students were priorities.

• Staff writer Barbara Vitello contributed to this report.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.