Breaking News Bar
updated: 4/10/2013 12:56 AM

Incumbents win new terms on Mt. Prospect board

Success - Article sent! close
  • Steven Polit

    Steven Polit

  • John Matuszak

    John Matuszak

  • Michael Zadel

    Michael Zadel


Mount Prospect voters gave their tacit endorsement Tuesday to the work their local government is doing, re-electing three incumbents to the village board.

With 34 of 34 precincts reporting, trustees John Matuszak, Steven Polit and Michael Zadel were the top vote-getters in Tuesday's consolidated election, earning 2,128, 1,868 and 1,630 votes, respectively, according to unofficial totals.

John Dyslin, one of the three challengers in the race, received 1,276 votes, while Kevin Grouwinkel got 1,131 and Carl Arriaza received 1,002.

"This is a solid board, we make good hard decisions and we're very happy with the results of this election," Polit said Tuesday night. "I look at this as a vote of confidence in our board."

During the campaign, the incumbents pointed to stable village property tax rates and successes like the Randhurst Village development as reasons why they should be re-elected. Dyslin and Arriaza challenged those claims, saying taxes are too high in Mount Prospect and that the incumbents had not shown enough leadership. Grouwinkel refrained from attacking the incumbents, focusing instead on issues like downtown redevelopment.

Despite the incumbents' victory, there will be some change on the board in the near future. Trustee Arlene Juracek ran unopposed Tuesday for the mayor's post. She will vacate her trustee seat to take over for outgoing Mayor Irvana Wilks and the board will appoint someone to fill the remainder of her term.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.