Breaking News Bar
updated: 4/9/2013 11:25 PM

Weihofen returns as Lakemoor mayor; Lonigro, Aguilar, McIntyre, win as trustees

Success - Article sent! close
  • Ryan Weihofen

    Ryan Weihofen

  • Phil Lonigro

    Phil Lonigro

  • Alexis Aguilar

    Alexis Aguilar

  • Colin McIntyre

    Colin McIntyre

Daily Herald Report

Ryan "Todd" Weihofen gets four more years on the Lakemoor village board, according to unofficial results Tuesday.

With combined ballots from Lake County and McHenry County precincts, Weihofen garnered 329 votes to easily outdistance political newcomer Tina Asmus with 78 votes.

Economic development in Lakemoor was among the key issues pushed by the candidates.

Weihofen, 37, is a vice president of construction for a pool company. He seeks to add businesses along the busy Route 120 and Route 12 corridors, and the business growth is considered one of the most important issues facing Lakemoor over the next four years.

Weihofen also wants to develop more social programs for people of all ages.

In the race for three trustee seats in Lakemoor, incumbent Phil Lonigro had 332 votes, political newcomer Alexis Aguilar had 334 votes, and incumbent Colin McIntyre had 291 votes. Newcomer Rick Weaver trailed with 181 votes.

However, the vote totals for write-in mayoral candidate Kimberly Beach still have not been counted. Beach became a write-in candidate after she was kicked off the ballot in February. An electoral board ruled her nomination petitions did not include the required number of signatures.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.