Breaking News Bar
updated: 3/8/2013 1:22 PM

Lake Zurich High School Varsity Flag Squad Earns Team Dance Illinois (TDI) 2013 State Grand Champion Title!

Success - Article sent! close
  • TDI 2013 State Flag Grand Champions!

    TDI 2013 State Flag Grand Champions!
    VIP for press release

E. Pesce

Lake Zurich High School Varsity Flag Squad Earns Team Dance Illinois (TDI) 2013 State Grand Champion Title!

On their quest for an Illinois Drill Team Association (IDTA) State Champion three-peat, the Lake Zurich Varsity Winter Guard has put in months of training that began last June. Perfecting their equipment technique and overall showmanship, the hard work has paid off. In a very successful competitive season the team has secured multiple 1st place finishes along with earning the very prestigious "Highest Technical Score" award at three separate TDI competitive venues. Capping off the TDI competitive season, Lake Zurich earned the highest award possible as the 2013 State Flag Grand Champions at the TDI State Championships held at Peoria's Carver Arena on March 3rd.

This season's two routines showcase the wide range of skills these performers' possess. In the flag routine, the team becomes tropical birds whisking you away to "Rio." This show is loaded with intricate flag skills, difficult tosses and exchanges, beautiful color and a whole lot of Carnival! The winter guard routine, set to the classical music piece "Palladio," tells the story of musical notes trying to please their maestro. Despite some moments of mischief from some of the notes, the ensemble comes together to present a beautifully layered masterpiece of musical elegance featuring flag, rifle, ribbon, saber and dance.

The LZHS Varsity Winter Guard consists of 23 members chosen from the larger fall color guard which performs with the marching band through the football season. It is an earned position by audition only. The team is led by captains Olivia Pesce, Hayley Banas, and Gabrielle Munoz. Seniors: Lauren Guilford, Lexi Bonefas, Haylie Larsen, Mandi Burkley, Alisa Kraft, Kelly Wacker, Rachel Spatz. Juniors: Rebecca Johlie, Claire Donahue, Kelly Finnen, Hayley Anderson. Sophomores: Shannon McGeever, Laurel Wenckowski, Sydney Schumacher, Amanda Buckstaff, Kristin Clemens, Sidney Sorrells. Freshman: Paulinka Kroczak, Shannon McCabe, Melissa Sharapata. The team is coached by Eileen Pesce and Libby Reimann.

The squad continues to prepare for the Illinois Drill Team Association's (IDTA) State Championships to be held on March 16th at the University of Illinois - Assembly Hall, where they will defend their state champion title and go for the three-peat!