Breaking News Bar
updated: 3/6/2013 12:06 PM

Batavia Dance Teams Win 4 Trophies at State

Success - Article sent! close
  • Batavia High School JV and Varsity Dance Team proudly display the four trophies they won at State in Peoria on March 3, 2013.

    Batavia High School JV and Varsity Dance Team proudly display the four trophies they won at State in Peoria on March 3, 2013.
    Janice Moran

Janice Moran

At the TEAMDance Illinois(TDI) State Championship Competitions held in Peoria on March 3, JV swept 1st Place at the JV Illinois Invitational, receiving trophies for both their Hip-Hop and Open Pom performances.

The Batavia Varsity Dance Team took two tropies at the TDI State Championship, winning 2nd place in the 2A Open Pom category and 3rd place in the 2A Open Dance category.

The Batavia High School dance teams competed with over one hundred other dance teams participating in the championship. Trophies were presented to the top three teams in each category. JV and Varsity had competed at Dance regional competitions throughout Illinois between November and February to qualify in each category, allowing JV to progress to the JV Illinois Invitational and Varsity to progress to the TDI State Championship. This is Varsity's 7th consecutive year at the State Championship.

This TDI State Competition concludes the BHS Dance Teams Dance Season. Way to go, Batavia Dance Teams, for your accomplishments during the 2012-2013 season!

The 2012-13 JV dance team members are: Sarah Clouser, Ivanna Cortez, Ali Flatley, Lucy Hilliard, Kelly Hull, Kathryn Koirtyohann, Megan Koif, Brianna Marquette, Kiley Penman, Gabriela Perez, Anna Podraza, Kaley Read, Kathryn Ruff, Michelle Rymut, Ashley Schroeder, Julia Shankland, Amber Strandlund and Ashley White. The JV coach is Rebecca Bombard.

The 2012-13 Varsity dance team members are: Marissa Bode (Captain), Abby Wilson (Captain), Jacqueline Mirski (Manager), Kalah Anderson, Claire Carlson, Allison Hartmann, Chandler Hrack, Sarah Jacobson, Sona Kaul, Ryanne Marks, Cassie Mirski, Lexy Mueller, Katelyn Phillips, Caitlin Smith, Samantha Spengler, Melanie Steffen and Amber Tousana. The Varsity coach is Angie Fuqua.

Tryouts for 2013-14 Dance Season will be announced soon and are typically held in late April or early May. The exact dates will be posted on the Batavia Dance Team website once announced. Please visit for further information regarding the dance teams.


    Winner - 2015 Best Website
    Illinois Press Association
    Illinois Press Association