2014 readers choice results
Article posted: 2/8/2013 4:54 PM

Buffalo Grove cheerleaders feted at school assembly

Buffalo Grove High School coed varsity cheerleaders celebrate their 2013 IHSA State Championship win at Bloomington on Feb. 2.

Buffalo Grove High School coed varsity cheerleaders celebrate their 2013 IHSA State Championship win at Bloomington on Feb. 2.


Courtesy District 214

 1 of 1 
text size: AAA
By Submitted by District 214

Amid the roar of an appreciative crowd and rousing music performed by the Bison Jazz Band, the Buffalo Grove High School 2013 Illinois High School Association State Champion Coed Varsity Cheerleading team was feted at an all-school assembly on Feb. 4 for their victory in the state finals on Feb. 2.

In 40 years, the school's only three previous state championships were with the 1986 football team, 1988 boys soccer team and the 2000 girls basketball team, Assistant Principal of Student Activities Mark Schaetzlein said. "The coed varsity cheerleading team was composed, loose, supportive, focused and driven to succeed."


In front of their peers, coaches, teachers, support staff, parents and community members, the championship cheerleaders proudly hoisted their trophy and presented it to Principal Carol Burlinski.

Jeff Siegal, called "the Godfather of Cheer" by Schaetzlein for winning six out of eight IHSA State Championships for Elk Grove High School and now Buffalo Grove, thanked his team, assistant coaches, and his captains.

Team members are Lauren Castleman, Megan Coan, Jenny Cysweski (captain), Christina Dreffein (captain), Brian Fuertes, Joseph Gonzalez, Brandon Gooden, Lauren Hintzman, Caleb Jones, Dan Kabakov, Lexie Marsh, Faviola Mendoza, Monica Misch, Rachel Nehring, Abby Norman, Charles Nowak, Rachel Picciola, Brynn Rapp, Dar Reinhard, Sarah Ricciardi, Kailee Tasca, Sammie Theodore, Amy Walter, Jaclyn Zirngibl (captain), Justine Zirngibl and Antonio Zmani.

Comments ()
We are now using Facebook comments to offer a more inclusive, social and constructive discussion. Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.
Latest Video


Most Commented
Top Jobs

    View all Top Jobs Place a job ad



    • Newspaper next section - Newspaper next section Report card checker - report card checker
    • Dh innovation award 2 - Dh innovation award 2 Zillow /real estate page
    • Discuss refer On Guard series
    • Newspaper archives -- Monday or anyday Mike North



    Connect with a business or service in your area fast. First select a town, then enter a search term or choose one of the listed popular searches:

    Don't see your town listed? Visit our full directory to begin your search.