Breaking News Bar
posted: 2/4/2013 7:30 PM

Des Plaines council appoints first woman as interim mayor

Success - Article sent! close
  • Patricia Haugeberg

    Patricia Haugeberg

Daily Herald staff report

The Des Plaines City Council Monday night appointed 1st Ward Alderwoman Patti Haugeberg as interim mayor until the Feb. 19 city council meeting at which time 4th Ward Alderman Dick Sayad will be sworn in to serve until the April 15 council meeting -- almost until the end of former Mayor Marty Moylan's unfinished term.

The council must appoint yet another alderman to serve from April 15 through the first council meeting in May when a new mayor will be sworn in based on which of three candidates vying for the post -- former Des Plaines mayor Tony Arredia, 3rd Ward Alderman Matt Bogusz, and 6th Ward Alderman Mark Walsten -- is elected April 9.

The city has had rotating leadership since Moylan stepped down on Dec. 31. He was sworn in as state representative in the 55th House District in early January. Ward 8 Alderman Mike Charewicz served as interim mayor for about a month after Moylan's departure.

Ward 5 Alderman Jim Brookman said the goal of having aldermen rotate as mayor is to give them a chance to gain experience in that leadership role. The motion to appoint Haugeberg and Sayad was approved 5-3. A substitute motion to allow Charewicz to continue serving as mayor for the remainder of Moylan's unfinished term failed by a 5-3 vote. Haugeberg is the first woman to serve in the temporary mayoral post.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.