Breaking News Bar
posted: 12/8/2012 11:47 AM

Mundelein High hosts poetry slam on Dec. 14

Success - Article sent! close
Mundelein High School submission

Mundelein High School's Poetry Slam team will host its Epic Hoofbeat Poetry Slam/Poetry Performance Contest Friday, Dec. 14, beginning at 7 p.m. in the auditorium.

Entrants are welcome from any school, any age group or neighboring communities. Winners will be crowned in the high school student division and the community division.

Order Reprint Print Article
Interested in reusing this article?
Custom reprints are a powerful and strategic way to share your article with customers, employees and prospects.
The YGS Group provides digital and printed reprint services for Daily Herald. Complete the form to the right and a reprint consultant will contact you to discuss how you can reuse this article.
Need more information about reprints? Visit our Reprints Section for more details.

Contact information ( * required )

Success - request sent close

Entrants should prepare two pieces for presentation: one for the preliminary round and one for the final round. Three poets from each division will advance to their finals, with the winner of each earning a gift certificate. Judges for the event will be provided by the MHS Slam Team.

Each entrant must submit a registration form to perform. Cost is $5, which also allows the participant to be a spectator for the other performances. A registration table will also be available on the night of the event. Spectator admission is $5 and $4 with a student ID.

In general, poems presented at a poetry slam are usually memorized, are limited to three minutes and combine the power of the words themselves along with dynamic stage performance. Slam poems often use comical exaggerations, unconventional angles, surprise twists and emotions like love, heartbreak or outrage.

Doug Lillydahl, English department chair, serves as the Poetry Slam Team adviser. Officers include president Claire Naughton, vice president Emma McGowen, secretary Cassie Reyes, treasurer Andrew Bonczkowski and webmaster Maya St. Clair.

Complete information and entry forms are available under "Activities" on the school's website at

Share this page