Facebook like page thumb

Articles filed under School Board

Show 21-40 of 810 « previous next »
  • Strack, Weidman, Alfrejd, Roop on Grayslake Dist. 46 board Apr 9, 2013 11:36 PM
    With no incumbents running in Tuesday’s election, voters were guaranteed to send newcomers to the Grayslake Elementary District 46 board. Jill Alfrejd, Robert Roop, Steven Strack and James Weidman were the winner of four open board seats in the election.

  • Newcomer Villa to serve on West Chicago school board Apr 9, 2013 11:22 PM
    A former social worker for West Chicago Elementary District 33 will join her brother on the school board after being elected Tuesday along with three incumbents. Newcomer Karina Villa finished third among five candidates for four seats and will join incumbents Susan Stibal, Brenda Vishanoff and Juliann Pearson on the board.

  • Newcomers win MCC seats Apr 9, 2013 11:14 PM
    In a heated campaign for McHenry County College board of trustees that attracted nine candidates for three 6-year terms, unofficial election results on Tuesday show newcomers Molly Walsh, Chris Jenner and Thomas W. Wilbeck as the winners.

  • District 21 incumbents retain their seats Apr 10, 2013 12:00 AM
    Four incumbents are headed back to the school board at Wheeling Elementary District 21. Phil Pritzker registered 2,620 votes, followed by Debbi McAtee with 2,594, Bill Harrison with 2,480, and Arlen Gould with 2,286, according to unofficial vote totals. Newcomer Kelly Beerheide of Arlington Heights trailed with 2,148.

  • Incumbents, rookies embraced by voters Apr 9, 2013 10:48 PM
    New leaders will change the face of Aptakisic-Tripp School District 102 following Tuesday’s election for four positions on the board. Newcomers Scott Linn and Jeremy Galfield won, as did incumbents Lenny Ostach and board secretary Pelleg Graupe.

  • Challengers Paulsen, Mathieson join two incumbents taking seats on District 200 board Apr 9, 2013 10:49 PM
    Two of the three incumbents survived the nine-person race for the four available seats on the Wheaton Warrenville Unit District 200 board. Barbara Intihar, who has served on the board since 2001, and Joann Coghill, who has served since 2004, reclaimed their seats Tuesday night.

  • Voters put their faith in District 116 incumbents Apr 9, 2013 10:48 PM
    Experience was the lesson voters taught Tuesday as incumbents swept the election race for the Round Lake Area Unit District 116 school board. With all 18 precincts reporting, board members Ann Welk, Kevin Daniels and Margaret “Peg” Larson won three, 4-year seats with 739, 712 and 699 votes, according to unofficial tallies. Challengers Gema Mariscal and Kevin Devera garnered 519 and 487 votes, respectively.

  • Lamb, Juby join incumbents on Geneva 304 school board Apr 9, 2013 10:43 PM
    Incumbent board President Mark Grosso was re-elected to the Geneva District 304 school board Tuesday along with fellow incumbent Bill Wilson and newcomers David Lamb and Leslie Juby.

  • Incumbents re-elected in Kildeer Countryside District 96 Apr 9, 2013 10:53 PM
    The Kildeer Countryside District 96 school board will have a familiar look. All four sitting board members earned another term, according to unofficial vote totals. With all 26 precincts reporting, the top vote-getter was longtime board member and current board president Marc Tepper.

  • Three newcomers, one incumbent to lead Cary schools Apr 9, 2013 10:59 PM
    Three newcomers will be joining the Cary School District 26 board of education. The district is working to phase back in art, music and physical education classes that were cut in the midst of a financial crisis that almost included state takeover.

  • Four incumbents return to District 38 school board Apr 9, 2013 11:18 PM
    Four incumbents edged out challenger Pauletta Moody Tuesday to return to the Big Hollow School District 38 board. With all precincts reporting, voters retained mortgage closer Heather Janquart, firefighter James DeVito, teacher Julia Mazur and produce clerk Victoria Gallichio to lead the financially strapped Big Hollow school district for four more years.

  • Smith, Noland, Napolitano take U-46 seats Apr 9, 2013 11:41 PM
    Incument Donna Smith is the highest vote getter in Elgin Area School District U-46, followed by Veronica Noland and Frank Napolitano, according to unofficial vote totals late Tuesday night.

  • Ollayos, Causey and Sauceda for ECC board Apr 9, 2013 11:17 PM
    Voters chose incumbent Clare Ollayos and challenger Angela Causey for two 6-year seats on the Elgin Community College board of trustees, according to unofficial results with 99 percent of precincts reporting Tuesday. Art Sauceda won against Nadia Daley in a race for the single 4-year seat.

  • Incumbent, two newcomers elected to District 56 board Apr 9, 2013 11:46 PM
    An incumbent and two newcomers were elected Tuesday to three 4-year seats on the Gurnee Elementary District 56 board. Voters returned incumbent James Blockinger to his seat and also elected Mark Pos and Odie Pahl.

  • Newcomer Patterson to join Wauconda school board Apr 9, 2013 11:09 PM
    Three incumbents will be joined by a face on the Wauconda Unit School District 118 board. With all 17 precincts reporting Tuesday night, the winners were incumbents Deby Dato, Carey McHugh and Thomas A. Weber Sr. and newcomer David A. Patterson. Incumbent Jonathan Feryance failed in his re-election bid.

  • Embattled president re-elected to Dist. 117 board Apr 9, 2013 10:48 PM
    Despite being mired in controversy, incumbent school board President Wayne Sobczak held onto his seat on the Antioch-Lake Villa High School District 117 board Tuesday. With all 33 precincts counted, Sobczak collected 2,115 votes, making him the second top vote-getter behind fellow incumbent board member Ron Vickers.

  • Newcomer McNeil joins 3 incumbents on Antioch Dist. 34 board Apr 9, 2013 11:02 PM
    Newcomer Mary Kay McNeil and three incumbents led a crowded field in Tuesday’s race for four seats on the Antioch Elementary School District 34 board.

  • Hansen, Hawksworth, Lee win in Lake Villa Dist. 41 Apr 9, 2013 11:23 PM
    Lake Villa School District 41 voters aim to send two incumbents and a newcomer to the school board on Tuesday. With ballots in all 22 Lake County precincts counted, unofficial results show winners as incumbent Kurt Hansen with 653 votes; Michele Hawksworth with 543 votes; and newcomer Jolene Lee with 535 votes.

  • One incumbent, former trustee take early CLC lead Apr 9, 2013 9:27 PM
    Incumbent Barbara Oilschlager and former College of Lake County trustee Philip Carrigan are leading in a five-way race for two 6-year terms on the college board. With all 400 precincts reporting, unofficial results show the two lead incumbent John Lumber and challengers Darl Drummond and Jeanne Marie Dauray. The results do not include vote-by-mail or early voting totals, which should be tallied by the Lake County Clerk’s office soon.

  • Incumbents retains seats in Lake Zurich District 95 voting Apr 9, 2013 11:16 PM
    The Lake Zurich Unit District 95 school board will see a mix of three people with experience and one with a fresh perspective among the four newly elected board members.

Show 21-40 of 810 « previous next »
Latest Video


Most Commented
Top Jobs

    View all Top Jobs Place a job ad



    • Daily Herald eEdition Cook of the Week Challenge
    • Report card checker - report card checker Dh innovation award 2 - Dh innovation award 2
    • Zillow /real estate page Discuss refer
    • On Guard series Newspaper archives -- Monday or anyday
    • Mike North National Newspaper Week - National Newspaper Week



    Connect with a business or service in your area fast. First select a town, then enter a search term or choose one of the listed popular searches:

    Don't see your town listed? Visit our full directory to begin your search.