Breaking News Bar
updated: 6/5/2014 9:39 PM

Arlington Hts. opens Sounds of Summer series

hello
Success - Article sent! close
  • Nick Martin conducts the St. Viator jazz band Thursday night at Harmony Park in downtown Arlington Heights.

       Nick Martin conducts the St. Viator jazz band Thursday night at Harmony Park in downtown Arlington Heights.
    Renee Trappe | Staff Photographer

 
Daily Herald report

Arlington Heights kicked off another summer outdoor concert series Thursday with the St. Viator jazz band performing at Harmony Park, at Vail and Campbell.

The Sounds of Summer will have a different performer every Thursday and Friday through Aug. 7 (except for dates that coincide with Frontier Days and Irish Fest).

Order Reprint Print Article
 
Interested in reusing this article?
Custom reprints are a powerful and strategic way to share your article with customers, employees and prospects.
The YGS Group provides digital and printed reprint services for Daily Herald. Complete the form to the right and a reprint consultant will contact you to discuss how you can reuse this article.
Need more information about reprints? Visit our Reprints Section for more details.

Contact information ( * required )

Success - request sent close

The concerts, presented by The Peoples' Bank, are held from 7-8:30 p.m. in Harmony Park. Bring chairs and blankets; concerts will be canceled in bad weather. Notices will be placed in the park if a concert is canceled, or check at www.van.com or DiscoverArlington.com.

Also of note: The village is closing Vail Street on Friday nights this year due to the crowds last year.

Sounds of Summer music schedule

• Friday, June 6: Heartache Tonight, the Eagles tribute band.

• Thursday, June 12: Missed Opportunity, rock songs from the '70s to current.

• Friday, June 13: 25 or 6 to 4, a Chicago tribute band

• Thursday, June 19: Britbeat, the Beatles tribute band.

• Friday, June 20: Gone2Paradise, Jimmy Buffett music.

• Thursday, June 26: Illinois Brass Band.

• Friday, June 27: Big Fun, music from Motown to today's dance party music.

• Thursday, July 10: Small Potatoes, folk duo.

• Friday, July 11: Billy Elton, music of Billy Joel and Elton John.

• Thursday, July 17: Arlington Heights Community Concert Band.

• Friday, July 18: Arranmore, Irish folk music band.

• Thursday, July 24: Prairie Brass Band.

• Thursday, July 31: Barrett's Hidden Agenda, "Urban Americana from north of the Mason-Dixon"

• Friday, Aug. 1: The Blooze Brothers.

• Thursday, Aug. 7: Skip Towne & The Greyhounds, classic and rocking blues, jazz, swing and ballads.

Share this page
Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.
    help here