Breaking News Bar
posted: 4/18/2014 12:26 PM

Naper Settlement honors dozens for volunteer service

Success - Article sent! close
By Donna DeFalco
Naper Settlement

Naper Settlement has partnered with the White House to become a Certifying Organization for the President's Volunteer Service Awards, a national program recognizing Americans who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to volunteer service.

During the settlement's annual Volunteer Appreciation event earlier this month, 37 individuals and 13 groups received a President's Volunteer Service Award.

"The museum's success is dependent on our volunteers' passion for history and dedication to our community," Director of Organizational Resources Josh Chartier said.

"This is our second annual President's Volunteer Service Awards ceremony, which I am excited to report, shows an increase in individual volunteer awardees and a newly added group volunteer award."

The award winners are:

• President's Call to Service Award: Lynn Rogala;

• Gold Level Award recipients: Nancy King, Lydia Render, Lynn Rogala, Sharon Wisinski. Groups: Chicago Light Artillery Battery A, Naperville Heritage Society Weed Ladies.

• Silver Level Award recipients: Alberta Kobialka, Eddie Pinc, Cathi Schumacher, Krissy Tworek. Groups: 45th Illinois Volunteer Infantry, 64th Illinois Volunteer Infantry Company E, 35th Illinois Volunteer Infantry Reg., 1st Michigan Engineers, Shelby County Soldiers' Aid Society and Taylor's Battery Company B.

• Bronze Level Award recipients: Casey Carroll, Diane Carson, Hilary Decent, Lana Depcik, John Earley, Natalie Flores, Kathy Gleason, Adrienne Gonzales, Steve Grosskopf, Katie Hanson, Max Harbach, Shivane Jetley, Diane Kasper, Gerry McIntosh, Greg Merriam, Margaret Mingione, Lisa Mueller, Sally Pentecost, Krista Ravenscraft, Barb Rimmer, Mary Rohlman, Barb Smart, William Smith, Valerie Solon, Sarah Stasukewicz, Margaret Strohl, Tiffany Tindell, Francene Turnpaugh, Betty Wampach. Groups: Austin's Battalion Company A, Boy Scout Troop 75, 2nd Kentucky Cavalry Co. D, The Missouri Guerillas and Stanford's Battery.

Established in 2003, the President's Volunteer Service Award gives recognition to individuals, families and groups who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to volunteer service each year.

The award shares this achievement as a way to inspire others to contribute to their communities through volunteer service and to make volunteer service a central part of their lives.

Awards are issued in recognition for volunteer hours served over a calendar year and over the course of a lifetime.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.