Breaking News Bar
updated: 2/13/2014 8:58 AM

Quinn to bestow 'Order of Lincoln' on 7

Success - Article sent! close
Associated Press

Seven Illinoisans will receive the state's highest honor for professional achievement and public service this year.

Gov. Pat Quinn said Wednesday he will bestow the "Order of Lincoln" on the recipients at a May ceremony.

This year the honor goes to John Canning Jr., co-founder and chairman of Madison Dearborn Partners; Chicago native and Duke University basketball coach Michael Krzyzewski (shuh-SHEV'-skee); and Newton Minow, former Federal Communications Commission chairman and early critic of television.

Celebrated husband and wife composing team Bernard Rands and Augusta Read Thomas will be honored, along with the Rev. Donald Senior, a world-class theologian, and Glenn Tilton, chairman of Midwest for J.P. Morgan Chase and former chairman and CEO of United Airlines.

Money raised at the May ceremony and dinner fund college scholarships.

  • This article filed under:
  • News
Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.