Breaking News Bar
updated: 11/8/2013 6:54 AM

U of I Springfield inducts 5 into legislative intern hall of fame

Success - Article sent! close
Associated Press

SPRINGFIELD -- The University of Illinois Springfield is adding five former state Capitol interns to its Legislative Internship Hall of Fame.

Inductees include Democratic U.S. Congresswoman Cheri Bustos and assistant secretary of the Senate Scott Kaiser. They will be honored at a Nov. 21 ceremony at the governor's mansion.

The Hall of Fame was established in 1990 and is sponsored by Illinois Issues magazine and the University of Illinois Alumni Association. It is named for the late Samuel Gove, a longtime director of the school's internship program. The nearly 60 members include a former governor and several former and current state legislators selected based on their contributions to the state.

The names of members are inscribed on a plaque that hangs on the fourth floor of the state Capitol.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.