Breaking News Bar
posted: 11/5/2013 12:18 PM

Carmel to present 'Snow Off White' for fall musical

Success - Article sent! close
Carmel Catholic High School submission

Carmel Catholic High School's Fine Arts Department presents its fall musical, "Snow Off White," a rock musical spoof of the classic Disney fairy tale.

Written by former Disney scriptwriters Flip Kobler and Cindy Marcus, with music and lyrics by award-winning actor and composer Bill Francoeur, "Snow Off White" is produced by special arrangement with Contemporary Drama Service, Colorado Springs, Colo.

A preview show will be presented Friday, Nov. 8, at 9:30 a.m. Tickets are $5. The musical opens to general audiences Friday, Nov. 15, at 7 p.m. and continues Saturday, Nov. 16, at 2 and 7 p.m., and Sunday, Nov. 17, at 2 p.m. Tickets for these shows are $10 each. Call the Ticket Hotline at (847) 3883450.

"Snow Off White" is the story of a not-so-typical fairy tale princess. Snow is an ungraceful, badmannered tomboy who wants to please her father, the king, who is getting remarried. Unknown to Snow, her future stepmother is a witch who has designs on the kingdom.

When Magic Mirror reveals that Snow will inherit everything, the king's future wife sends in her henchmen. Snow escapes and finds refuge at the cottage of seven fairy godmothers that help Snow by switching her with a princess from another fairy tale.

Like the original story of Snow White, there are witch's spells, minstrels and a prince.

Director Denise Sebastiano is confident audiences will be entranced by the energetic choreography and lively rock music, including "Welcome to Our World," "It Doesn't Suit Me," "Fairest of Them All," "Not the Way the Story Goes," "We Will Overcome," "Happily Never After," and "Through the Fire."

Lead cast members are: Eimilie Ford, student producer; Francesca Bucci, student director; seniors Natalie Santoro, Veronica Tutaj, Marc Malandrino, Erin Pauly, Kotryna Jukneviciute, Brittany Tarpey, Will Higgins, Olivia Koukol; juniors Brody Long, Hasana Huff, Carl Senger, Tyler Smith, Gianna Rizzo, Annie Cebulski, Sarah Storto, Anthony Dinkel, Rich Comber, Jessica McGowan, Hanna James, Abbey Bond, Michelle Deme, Jen Behrens; Deb Long, producer; and Kacey Valentine, choreographer.