Daily Herald - Suburban Chicago's source for news This copy is for personal, non-commercial use. To order presentation-ready copies for distribution you can: 1) Use the "Reprint" button found on the top and bottom of every article, 2) Visit reprints.theygsgroup.com/dailyherald.asp for samples and additional information or 3) Order a reprint of this article now.
Article posted: 7/9/2013 11:30 AM

Schaumburg Youth Orchestra award winners announced


The Schaumburg Youth Orchestra closed out a productive season of presenting music and entertainment to the community while providing cultural opportunities for area youth.

Scholarship Program

Village of Schaumburg, Prairie Center Arts Foundation and individually sponsored scholarships were presented to outstanding youth orchestra members.

Eleven students received scholarships valued up $300 from the village of Schaumburg:

Sarah Behery of Palatine: $300; Bassoon; SYSO; Fremd High School

Jennifer Bolek of Elk Grove Village: $300; Cello; SYSS; Conant High School

Lauren Cardoza of Palatine: $300; Viola; SYCO; Sandburg Junior High

David Crisler of Lake Zurich: $300; Oboe; SYSO; Lake Zurich High School

Mason Harrsch of Schaumburg: $300; Violin; SYSS; Dooley Elementary

Joel Hess of Deer Park : $200; Violin; SYCO; Homeschool

Christina Hoskinson of Schaumburg: $250; Cello; SYSO; Hoffman Estates High School

Haripriya Mehta of Des Plaines: $300; Violin; SYSS; Maine West High School

Cody Mui of Schaumburg: $250; Violin; SYCO; Addams Junior High

Daniel O'Dette of Schaumburg: $200; Viola; SYCO; Conant High School

Stephen O'Dette of Schaumburg: $200; Violin; SYSE; Frost Junior High

Three high school graduates received Leo Chan Alumni Award, sponsored by former SYO member Leo Chan:

Tyler Hansen of Arlington Heights: $500 (Leo Chan Alumni Award); Violin; SYSO; Homeschool

Hannah Drake of Prospect Heights: $200 (Leo Chan Alumni Award); Flute; SYSO; Hersey High School

Jenna Campbell: $100 (Leo Chan Alumni Award); Horn; SYSO; Palatine High School

Schaumburg High School graduate and trombonist Jason Brescia of Hoffman Estates received a $500 Kelliher-Lawless Scholarship sponsored by Schaumburg Trustee George Dunham (also a former trombone player).

Mount Prospect resident Eric Wood, a graduate of Prospect High School, also received a $500 Senior Scholarship from the Prairie Center Arts Foundation.

Scholarships are awarded annually to fund music-related activities ranging from instrument purchases to summer music camps and lessons.


The program's four orchestras performed a total of 11 concerts for audiences in the winter and spring, including holiday-themed shows for the public and school kids and the popular orchestra-as-karaoke Sing Your Heart Out Concert in March. The advanced Symphony Orchestra will take its show overseas when it performs six more concerts in London and Paris later this month.

25th Anniversary

Auditions for new members were recently held (with more planned in September), bringing a total of 193 students to the program for the 2013-14 season, its 25th.

"Not bad for a program that started with 16 string players in 1989," says orchestra manager Rob Pileckis.

The season will also introduce a new Chamber Program for student musicians seeking experience performing in smaller ensembles.

And what better way is there to celebrate a 25th birthday than with a gala performance at Chicago's Symphony Center, home to the Chicago Symphony Orchestra? The Schaumburg Youth Symphony Orchestra, under the helm of director Joseph Malmquist since its inception, will pull out all stops (and canons, as will be required in Tchaikovsky's 1812 Overture) when a 100-plus orchestra of current and former SYO members present a silver anniversary concert in downtown Chicago in June, 2014.

The Schaumburg Youth Orchestra is a program of the village of Schaumburg and holds its rehearsals and performances at the Prairie Center for the Arts.

More information can be found by visiting www.schaumburgyouthorchestra.org or calling (837) 895-3600.

Send Your news to nbrcalendar@dailyherald.com.

Copyright © 2014 Paddock Publications, Inc. All rights reserved.