Breaking News Bar
updated: 4/9/2013 10:58 PM

Team Marshall, Lyman, Yaeger win in Long Grove

Success - Article sent! close
  • George Yaeger

    George Yaeger

  • John Marshall

    John Marshall

  • Lori Lyman

    Lori Lyman


The three trustees who won election to the Long Grove village board Tuesday did not declare themselves a slate.

But they certainly ran as a team, said one of the winners, Lori Lyman.

"It wasn't about me. It was about we. If any one of the three of us didn't make it, it would not have been as successful," said Lyman, who was the top vote-getter with 353, with eight of eight precincts reporting.

Incumbent John Marshall finished second, with 330 votes, while George Yaeger wound up a close third, with 325, finishing well ahead of former Trustee Christopher Borawski, who earned 240 votes.

The three winners are likely to be busy, with the village preparing to go to referendum for roads. Lyman said it is likely there will be a referendum, saying, "I think we need to. I don't know if it will pass. I'm hopeful that it will."

Borawski, who spoke out against a road tax, congratulated the winners, saying, "Everybody is a winner in this thing, and it's all good by me," adding that the position is held by volunteers and he is glad there were four people in the race willing to dedicate their time.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.