Daily Herald - Suburban Chicago's source for news This copy is for personal, non-commercial use. To order presentation-ready copies for distribution you can: 1) Use the "Reprint" button found on the top and bottom of every article, 2) Visit reprints.theygsgroup.com/dailyherald.asp for samples and additional information or 3) Order a reprint of this article now.
Article posted: 2/25/2013 5:30 AM

Democratic voters go to the polls Tuesday in Aurora Township

By Susan Sarkauskas

The polls will be open in Aurora Township Tuesday, as voters in the primary election select which Democrats they want to run for township positions.

Four people are seeking the nomination for township supervisor. Incumbent Christina Campos is opposed by former Kane County Board member Paul Greviskes and Trustee Bill Catching. All live in Aurora.

Incumbent Herbert Hill and Ken Christy are seeking the nomination for township clerk. Both live in Aurora.

Trustees David W. Moore and Dolores Hicks, plus Jesse Francis Vera, Carmen Cantu, Juanita T. Wells, Barbara Hernandez, Rebekah Litfin and Juan Reyna are seeking the four nominations for trustee. All live in Aurora.

Jason Owens is unopposed for the nomination for assessor, as is incumbent John Shoemaker for highway commissioner. Both live in North Aurora.

The winners in the primary will face a Republican slate picked in a December caucus. The Republican candidates are Albert Heriaud for supervisor; John Gaglione for clerk; incumbent Davis R. Offutt for assessor; William Bury for highway commissioner; and Harry Crowcroft, James Heriaud, Joan Solms and Don Duve for trustee.

The polls are open 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday. To find your polling place, visit auroravotes.org/polling-locations or kanecountyelections.org/PollingPlaces/PollingPlaces.aspx.

The consolidated election is April 9.

Copyright © 2014 Paddock Publications, Inc. All rights reserved.