Daily Herald - Suburban Chicago's source for news This copy is for personal, non-commercial use. To order presentation-ready copies for distribution you can: 1) Use the "Reprint" button found on the top and bottom of every article, 2) Visit reprints.theygsgroup.com/dailyherald.asp for samples and additional information or 3) Order a reprint of this article now.
Article posted: 2/25/2013 5:30 AM

Two Aurora council seats contested in Tuesday primary

By Marie Wilson

Aurora voters in city council Wards 9 and 4 will be going to the polls Tuesday's primary election to narrow the respective aldermanic fields to two candidates in each race.

Polls will open at 6 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

The Ward 9 race on Aurora's far southeast side features five candidates looking to represent a largely bedroom community covering portions of DuPage, Kendall and Will counties. Edward Bugg, Matt Harrington, Marge Linnane, Michael Ochs and Bob Shelton are competing for the Ward 9 aldermanic seat.

The top two vote-getters will remain on the ballot for the April 9 general election.

Seven candidates are vying for two spots on the general election ballot to represent Ward 4, which mainly lies in Kane County west of the Fox River but also includes a sizable section east of the river and south of downtown. The ward was completely on the west side before boundaries were redrawn last year to balance populations after the 2010 census.

Incumbent Ward 4 Alderman Rick Lawrence is not seeking re-election in his ward but is challenging Alderman-at-Large Bob O'Connor April 9 for a chance to represent the entire city.

Without an incumbent, the field of seven candidates features Mavis Bates, William "Bill" Donnell, Duanne Kleckner, James "Jay" Leonardi, Mike "Leo" Leonardi, Kevin Mathews and Charles "Chuck" Norris, although some news outlets were reporting Mathews said he has dropped out of the race.

To find polling place locations in Kane, Kendall and Will counties, visit auroravotes.org or call the Aurora Election Commission at (630) 897-4030. For DuPage County polling place information, visit dupageco.org/election or call (630) 407-5600.

Copyright © 2014 Paddock Publications, Inc. All rights reserved.