Daily Herald - Suburban Chicago's source for news This copy is for personal, non-commercial use. To order presentation-ready copies for distribution you can: 1) Use the "Reprint" button found on the top and bottom of every article, 2) Visit reprints.theygsgroup.com/dailyherald.asp for samples and additional information or 3) Order a reprint of this article now.
Article posted: 2/14/2013 5:39 PM

Schaumburg Township Democrats remain off April ballot

By Eric Peterson

A Cook County judge Thursday upheld the majority ruling of the Schaumburg Township electoral board removing four Democratic candidates from the April 9 ballot.

But onetime township trustee candidates Mike Murray, Carolyn A. Quinn, Zuhair Nubani and highway commissioner candidate Michael Lenehan are considering whether to take their case to a state appellate court, Murray said.

The township electoral board removed the four candidates, as well as fellow Democrat Moe Patel, because they were slated in the party's December caucus by an official who wasn't the properly appointed township committeeman.

Two members of the electoral board -- Township Supervisor Mary Wroblewski and Clerk Timothy Heneghan -- voted to have the Democrats removed. The third member, attorney Ellen Raymond of Burr Ridge, disagreed, finding that a mistake which made no difference to the caucus process shouldn't result in removal.

Patel did not appeal his removal because he also fell foul of a second objection -- not naming the office he was seeking on his statement of economic interest. But Patel already has filed as a write-in candidate for trustee, Murray said.

There may also be two others, not members of the original slate, who could file as write-ins for the offices of township supervisor and clerk to challenge Wroblewski and Heneghan, Murray added.

In the meantime, Democrats have five days to decide whether to appeal Thursday's decision.

All the candidates still on the ballot are Republicans. In addition to Wroblewski and Heneghan, they include trustee candidates Robert Vinnedge, Jeffery Mytych, Diane Dunham and Nimish Jani; highway commissioner candidate Scott Kegarise; and assessor candidate John Lawson.

Copyright © 2014 Paddock Publications, Inc. All rights reserved.