Daily Herald - Suburban Chicago's source for news This copy is for personal, non-commercial use. To order presentation-ready copies for distribution you can: 1) Use the "Reprint" button found on the top and bottom of every article, 2) Visit reprints.theygsgroup.com/dailyherald.asp for samples and additional information or 3) Order a reprint of this article now.
Article posted: 2/8/2013 4:54 PM

Buffalo Grove cheerleaders feted at school assembly


Amid the roar of an appreciative crowd and rousing music performed by the Bison Jazz Band, the Buffalo Grove High School 2013 Illinois High School Association State Champion Coed Varsity Cheerleading team was feted at an all-school assembly on Feb. 4 for their victory in the state finals on Feb. 2.

In 40 years, the school's only three previous state championships were with the 1986 football team, 1988 boys soccer team and the 2000 girls basketball team, Assistant Principal of Student Activities Mark Schaetzlein said. "The coed varsity cheerleading team was composed, loose, supportive, focused and driven to succeed."

In front of their peers, coaches, teachers, support staff, parents and community members, the championship cheerleaders proudly hoisted their trophy and presented it to Principal Carol Burlinski.

Jeff Siegal, called "the Godfather of Cheer" by Schaetzlein for winning six out of eight IHSA State Championships for Elk Grove High School and now Buffalo Grove, thanked his team, assistant coaches, and his captains.

Team members are Lauren Castleman, Megan Coan, Jenny Cysweski (captain), Christina Dreffein (captain), Brian Fuertes, Joseph Gonzalez, Brandon Gooden, Lauren Hintzman, Caleb Jones, Dan Kabakov, Lexie Marsh, Faviola Mendoza, Monica Misch, Rachel Nehring, Abby Norman, Charles Nowak, Rachel Picciola, Brynn Rapp, Dar Reinhard, Sarah Ricciardi, Kailee Tasca, Sammie Theodore, Amy Walter, Jaclyn Zirngibl (captain), Justine Zirngibl and Antonio Zmani.

Copyright © 2014 Paddock Publications, Inc. All rights reserved.