Breaking News Bar
updated: 1/4/2013 6:35 PM

Blackberry Twp. supervisor not running again

Success - Article sent! close

There will be a new supervisor in Blackberry Township come May, as Dave Richmond decided not to run again.

Richmond said he is stepping away to concentrate more on his business and to spend more time with his children.

Dennis Ryan of Elburn, chairman of the Western Kane County Republican Organization, was slated for the post by GOP committeemen, after a candidate chosen in a December caucus dropped out.

Ryan will face independent candidate Fred Dornback of Elburn.

Meanwhile, for the Waubonsee Community College board, five people are seeking two, 6-year terms, including longtime incumbent Richard Dickson.

Dickson has served on the board from 1972 to 1987, and from 1989 until now.

Also running is incumbent Richard Bodie. The field also includes Emmett Bonfield, Michael Konen and Isaac Count De Money Wilson.

Park boards

Elsewhere, the Sugar Grove Park Board will have to appoint two board members come May, unless people file as write-in candidates. It has three, 6-year positions open, but only one person, Commissioner Sean Carmody, filed for re-election. Write-in candidates must declare their intentions by Feb. 7.

For the Geneva park board, three people are seeking two, 6-year terms: Jay Moffat, Matt Gauntt and incumbent Peggy Condon. Moffat also has filed for the Geneva library board. Condon has been on the park board since 1999. Gauntt was a village trustee when he lived in Hanover Park in the late 1990s. Incumbent Todd Karas is not running again.

Two people filed for the two, 6-year terms available on the Batavia park board: Incumbent Patrick Callahan and Tara Gray.

Fire boards

In the Elburn and Countryside Fire Protection District, James Childress and Stephen C. Fuller are seeking the one, 6-year seat. And in the North Aurora fire protection district, incumbents Alfred Coppes and Richard Brackett are seeking election to the two, 6-year terms.

For the Sugar Grove and Countryside Fire Protection District board, three people are seeking two, 6-year seats: Incumbent David Linden, plus Cheryl Wojciechowski and John Guddendorf.

Library boards

Sugar Grove Library officials have not published the names of people running for the library board, but petitions are available for inspection. Library Director Carol Dolin said late Friday afternoon she and the board secretary hadn't finished finalizing the certification of the list, which it must present to the county clerk.

According to the Local Election Official's Handbook for the 2013 Consolidated Election, certification consists of the local election official swearing to the county clerk that they are presenting a true list of offices to be elected, the terms of the offices, and the names and addresses of the candidates in the order in which their petitions were filed.

The board secretary, Bill Durrenberger, was not available for comment immediately.

For the Messenger Public Library board in North Aurora, two people filed for 4-year terms: incumbents Tanya Berley and Marguerite Treest. That leaves two other seats open. Incumbents Janet Leach and David Young did not seek re-election.

For the Town and Country Library board, four people filed for the five, 4-year terms available: Incumbents Aimee Miller and David Burroughs, and Stephanie Butler and Philip Albano.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.