Daily Herald - Suburban Chicago's source for news This copy is for personal, non-commercial use. To order presentation-ready copies for distribution you can: 1) Use the "Reprint" button found on the top and bottom of every article, 2) Visit reprints.theygsgroup.com/dailyherald.asp for samples and additional information or 3) Order a reprint of this article now.
Article updated: 12/28/2012 8:53 PM

St. Charles school, park board incumbents face challengers

By James Fuller

There is potential for big change on the St. Charles Unit District 303 school board, as the four incumbents up for re-election have challengers.

Meanwhile, two residents whose recent political aspirations fell short are now vying to become St. Charles Park District commissioners.

In contrast, there will be no drama on the St. Charles Public Library Board as the two incumbents on the April ballot have no challengers.

School board President Steve Spurling and members Mike Vyzral, Jim Gaffney and Corinne Pierog are seeking new terms.

There are an equal number of newcomers looking to unseat them. Two names perhaps familiar to voters are Edward McNally and Nancy Muzzey.

McNally was one of the more vocal opponents of the plan to turn Davis and Richmond Elementary schools into grade level centers. He was not, however, part of the lawsuit filed by some parents affected by the decision.

A victory by Muzzey would give incumbent Judith McConnell a Tea Party ally on the school board. Muzzey has been an active member of the local Liberty Trail 9/12 Tea Party.

James Conro and Richard Leidig Jr. are the other newcomers challenging for District 303 school board seats.

The deadline for filing for local elective posts expired this week.

On the park district ballot, St. Charles voters are assured of change. Commissioner Gloria Klimek will not seek re-election. Incumbents Karrsten Goettel and Bob Carne are on the ballot.

Joining them is Jean Cabel, who was appointed to the park board in October to fill a seat vacated by the death of Jack Kerr. This is Cabel's first attempt at being elected to the seat. She is the assistant principal of Haines Middle School.

Any three of those seated park commissioners may not return to the board as two challengers are on the ballot.

Vanessa Bell-LaSota is a familiar face at St. Charles City Council meetings. She lost to Ray Rogina by 376 votes in the 2011 election for the 3rd Ward alderman seat.

Brian Charles hasn't been on a public ballot, but he was one of 40 applicants who sought an appointment to be Kane County's representative on the Metra board of trustees in 2011. Former Kane County Board Chairman Mike McCoy received that appointment. Charles is also a two-time St. Charles Men's City Golf Championship winner.

Two St. Charles Public Library trustees are running unopposed for a 6-year term: library board President Victoria Haines and Karen DeVault.

Copyright © 2014 Paddock Publications, Inc. All rights reserved.