Breaking News Bar
updated: 12/27/2012 6:13 PM

Contested village board races throughout Kane

Success - Article sent! close

There are several contested races in Wayne, Campton Hills and other small villages in central and western Kane County in the April election.

Campton Hills

Three, 4-year trustee seats are up, for re-election in Campton Hills, and all incumbents -- John Strauss, Al Lenkaitis and Michael Millette -- are seeking another term. A lone challenger, Harry Blecker, also is running for trustee. Blecker recently has attended public hearings about the proposed annexation of the former Glenwood School for Boys and Girls, at which the Kiva Recovery Center drug-addiction treatment facility wants to operate. Blecker questioned who would oversee what kinds of patients would be allowed at Kiva. Residents have protested the plan.


Trustees Ken Anderson Jr. and Jeff Walter are running for re-election. Joining them in seeking the three, 4-year seats are Patricia Schuberg, Richard Garcia and Michael Rullman.

Lily Lake

It is likely that a new trustee will have to be appointed after the election because only two people -- current Trustees Rick Overstreet and Steve Wise -- submitted petitions by this week's deadline to run for three, 4-year seats. Trustee Ashley Reed is not seeking another term.

Maple Park

Two people -- current Trustees Stephan Nowak and Debra Armstrong -- are running for two, 2-year seats on the village board. Incumbent Greg Cutsinger also is seeking one of three, 4-year seats, along with newcomers Lucas Goucher and Brian Kinane. Trustees Suzanna Fahnestock and Terry Borg did not seek re-election.

North Aurora

Trustees Chris Faber and Mark Gaffino are seeking election, as are Allen Cavender and Michael Lowery. Trustee Vince Mancini did not run.

Sugar Grove

Gayle Deja-Schultz, Stephanie Landorf, Trustee Robert Bohler and Trustee Rick Montalto filed for the three open trustee positions as of Dec. 17. A final list could not be obtained Thursday.


Six people are seeking three, 4-year trustee seats in Wayne, setting up a potentially heated election this spring. Current trustees Howard Levine, Michael Anastasio and Anna Marie Tigges all filed papers to seek another term. Challengers Scott Coryell, Richard Ruminski and James Morris also filed.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.