Breaking News Bar
updated: 12/24/2012 4:34 AM

3 former smokers win Ind. 'Quit Now' contest

Success - Article sent! close
Associated Press

INDIANAPOLIS -- Indiana's health commissioner is splitting $5,000 among three former smokers in reward for their quitting smoking.

Mary Stackhouse of Kokomo won $2,500, Sean Terrell of Jasonville won $1,500 and Carla Reel of Lafayette won $1,000 for not smoking in October.

State Health Commissioner Gregory Larkin said every entrant in the 2012 "Quit Now Indiana Contest" should be applauded for quitting. The money was donated by St. Vincent Health and MDWise Hoosier Alliance.

The contest is run annually by the state Tobacco Prevention and Cessation Commission.

About 10,000 Hoosiers die each year from tobacco-related causes.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.